"wie wat worden wil, hij ga het zeegat uit" "he

Commentaren

Transcriptie

"wie wat worden wil, hij ga het zeegat uit" "he
Amsterdam is trots op haar monumenten.
Het zijn panden waar we elke dag langs
fietsen, in wonen en in werken en die de
geschiedenis van de stad vertellen. De
gebouwen zijn ook deel gaan uitmaken
van mijn geschiedenis in deze stad. Ik kwam
hier wonen als student en ben sindsdien
nooit meer weggegaan. Nog altijd ontdek
ik met enige regelmaat monumenten die
ik niet eerder kende, maar waar ik graag
meer van zou willen weten.
Dit jaar openen rond het thema 'Op reis'
meer dan vijftig bijzondere en zelden voor
het publiek toegankelijke monumenten hun
deuren. Een prachtige kans om deze panden te leren kennen. Twee dagen lang
kunt u genieten van de gratis openstelling
van oude herbergen, grachtenpanden
van reislustige zeventiende-eeuwers en
gebouwen van de scheepvaart. Verder is
er een interessant activiteitenprogramma
samengesteld, zowel overdag als in de
avond en wordt een speciaal juniorprogramma aangeboden.
Ontdek het reislustige verleden van
onze stad tijdens Open Monumentendag
Amsterdam. Ik wens u een prachtig open
monumentenweekend!
Amsterdam is proud of its monuments.
These are the properties we cycle past
every day, and where we live and work.
They tell us the history of the city. The buildings have also become part of my history
in this city. I came here as a student and
never left. I still regularly discover new monuments that I want to learn more about.
This year's program is organised around
the theme 'Travelling'. Over fifty interesting monuments that are rarely open to
the public will open their doors. It is a
wonderful opportunity to get to know
these buildings. For two days you may
enjoy free access to old inns, the canal
houses of 17th-century explorers and
buildings related to the shipping industry.
There is an interesting program with
activities during the day and evening,
and a special junior program is also
offered.
Discover the adventurous past of our city
during Amsterdam Heritage Days. I wish
you a wonderful Heritage Days weekend!
Kajsa Ollongren, alderman
Kajsa Ollongren, wethouder
4op reis
10monumenten
68activiteiten
78avondprogramma
84juniorprogramma
89colofon
90locaties & plattegrond
4travelling
10monuments
68activities
78evening program
84junior program
89colophon
90locations & map
3
De Fransman Pierre le Jolle raakte door
zijn bezoek aan Amsterdam zo geïnspireerd,
dat hij in 1666 een reisverslag in burleske
verzen publiceerde. Soms hoefde Le Jolle
de pen niet eens aan te dikken, omdat
de werkelijkheid al bizar genoeg was. Zo
zag hij bij de Leidsegracht tot zijn stomme
verbazing een complete molen voorbij
varen, op weg naar zijn nieuwe bestemming! Mensen, dieren, goederen, bouwmaterialen, producten, zelfs ideeën zijn
al eeuwen niet aan één plaats gebonden.
Daarbij is het goed om in het achterhoofd
te houden dat we de laatste decennia
verder, sneller en comfortabeler kunnen
reizen dan ooit tevoren, en dat dankzij
de digitale wereld de voorbereidingen
ook nog eens veel eenvoudiger zijn.
op
reis
Jos Smit
travelling
Kop van de Oostelijke Handelskade Jacob Olie | 1902 ›
‹ Head of the Oostelijke Handelskade Jacob Olie | 1902
4
Het complete verhaal met verwijzing naar alle panden kunt u lezen op www.amsterdam.nl/openmonumentendag
You can read the complete story with reference to the monuments at www.iamsterdam.com/heritagedays
Pas de laatste tien, twintig jaar hebben
de verre, exotische reizen een hoge vlucht
genomen. Wat wij tegenwoordig als een
uitstapje of vakantie ervaren, was lange tijd
een enorme onderneming. Dat had ook
haar neerslag op de stad. De enorme variatie in reismogelijkheden – te voet, paard,
kar, trekschuit, koets, schip, trein, tram, auto,
bus of vliegtuig – en de uiteenlopende
redenen om op stap te gaan – handel,
geloof, plezier, werk – vroegen om een
passende infrastructuur en gebouwen die
reiziger, handelaar, transporteur en werker
van dienst konden zijn. Daarbij veranderden
de wensen en behoeften constant, als
gevolg van technische en economische
ontwikkelingen of gewoon 'de laatste
mode'. Amsterdam dankte haar bloei in
de zeventiende eeuw in belangrijke mate
aan de koopvaardij. In die tijd had de stad
een havenfront van ruim vier kilometer.
In het gebied daarachter waren alle faciliteiten te vinden die de scheepvaart nodig
had. Het Oostelijk en Westelijk Havengebied waren in het laatste kwart van
de negentiende eeuw ontwikkeld om de
Amsterdamse haven toegankelijk te houden
voor steeds grotere zeeschepen.
When French traveller Pierre le Jolle
visited Amsterdam in 1666, he was so
inspired that he published a travel diary
in burlesque verse. Sometimes, reality
itself was already bizarre enough that
he didn't even need to exaggerate…
One day, to his utter amazement, he saw
an entire windmill floating along a canal,
en route to its new location! It has been
centuries since people, animals, goods,
building materials, products and even
ideas were bound to a specific place.
Nowadays we can travel faster, farther
and more comfortably. Preparation has
also become a lot easier, thanks to
digital innovations.
Travelling to faraway, exotic destinations
has only become commonplace in the
last ten or twenty years. What is now
considered a simple holiday would have
been an immense undertaking in the
past. This fact is also reflected in the city
itself. The immense diversity in means
of transport – by foot, on horseback, by
cart, barge, coach, ship, train, tram, car,
bus or airplane – and the many different
reasons for travel – commerce, religion,
pleasure, work – called for good infrastructure and for buildings that served
travellers, merchants, transporters and
workers alike. Besides that, there was a
constant change of needs and desires,
as a result of technological and economic
developments, or simply because of the
'latest fashion'. To a large extent, Amsterdam owed its seventeenth-century
success to its merchant fleet. In those
days, the city had a waterfront over 4
kilometres long. In the adjacent area,
one could find all of the facilities for
naval transport. The Eastern and Western
Docklands date from the last quarter of
the nineteenth century, when they were
developed to keep the port of Amsterdam
accessible for the ever bigger ships used
on international lines.
5
en
en
bov
de
an
gv
gan
e in
oud
m
pen
Tro
het
um
use
he who wants
"to
be somebody
should fare
the seas"
um
use
nm
ope
e Tr
h
t
f
ce o
ran
ent
old
e
h
ve t
abo
ms
aniu
p
ym
e th
n th
xt o
‹ Te
pan
tim
Al hebben begrippen als 'afstand'
en 'tijd' een andere lading gekregen,
de 'reiziger van verre' is van alle tijden.
Amsterdam dankt zelfs haar bestaan en
ontwikkeling aan dat soort ondernemende
types. In de Gouden Eeuw zochten vele,
vaak niet onbemiddelde immigranten hier
– al dan niet om religieuze redenen – hun
heil, hetgeen de stad een economische
en culturele boost gaf. Franse protestanten vonden onderdak in een voormalige
katholieke kapel, Armeense kooplieden
vertimmerden een pakhuis tot hun bedehuis en Sefardische joden trokken een
ongekend monumentale synagoge op
die in de hele wereld zijn weerga niet
kende. Voor wie vanaf het IJ naderde
was de Oude Kerkstoren eeuwenlang
een vast herkenningspunt, te midden
van andere torens. Van landzijde werd de
stad gedomineerd door de vestingwal
met enkele toegangspoorten aan de
hoofdwegen, zoals de Muiderpoort.
While concepts like 'distance' and 'time'
now have a different meaning, the idea of
a 'traveller from afar' has always existed.
Amsterdam itself owes its existence and
growth to these kinds of adventurers.
During the Dutch Golden Age, in the
seventeenth century, many immigrants
found refuge here. Many were rich and
several were driven by religious reasons.
This gave the city an economic and cultural boost. French Protestants found a
new religious home in a former Catholic
chapel, Armenian merchants transformed
a warehouse into a house of prayer and
Sephardic Jews built an awe-inspiring,
monumental synagogue, unparalleled
in the rest of the world. The tower of the
Oude Kerk (Old Church) was, for centuries,
a well-known point of reference for visitors
approaching the city from the waters of
the IJ, as it stood out among other towers.
For travellers approaching Amsterdam
on land, the city was dominated by a
wall and gates (poorten) that gave
access to the main roads, like the
Muiderpoort.
wie wat
"
worden wil,
hij ga het
zeegat uit"
de
The enormous Central Railwaystation of
Amsterdam was like a symbolic city gate.
The combination of waterways and railways proved ideal for supply and transit.
Foreign countries became more accessible for Amsterdammers, and the other
way around: tourists started to flock to
the capital. Both the growth of air traffic
and the rapid expansion of Schiphol Airport helped accelerate this trend.
op
Het enorme Centraal Station, geprojecteerd op een kunstmatig eiland in het IJ,
fungeerde daarbij als symbolische stadspoort. Het buitenland werd niet alleen
beter bereikbaar voor de Amsterdammer,
maar er kwam ook een stroom van toerisme
naar de hoofdstad op gang, alsook de
bouw van hotels om de reizigers onderdak te verschaffen. Een ontwikkeling die
alleen nog maar werd versterkt door de
opkomst van de luchtvaart en de daarmee samenhangende snelle groei van
Schiphol.
kst
Transport over land modernised much
the same way as naval transport. The
Amsterdamsche Omnibus Maatschappij
grew thanks to horse-drawn streetcars, but
in 1900, when the company was taken over
by the municipality, electrification of the
tram network began. Railways connected
Amsterdam to the surrounding cities and
the rest of Europe.
‹ Te
6
Zoals de scheepvaart moderniseerde,
gebeurde dat ook met het landvervoer.
De Amsterdamsche Omnibus Maatschappij
was groot geworden met de paardentram,
maar met de overname door de gemeente
in 1900 begon ook de elektrificatie van het
tramnet. Spoorverbindingen ontsloten
het achterland en het Europese
continent.
7
8
"Wie wat worden wil, Hij ga het zeegat uit"
stond op de timpanen boven de oude
ingang van het Tropenmuseum, de bewaarplaats voor schatten uit NederlandsIndië en andere voormalige koloniën. Vanuit
de Oost kwamen niet alleen specerijen,
koffie, thee, suiker en tabak, maar ook
tropische houtsoorten naar ons land.
"He who wants to be somebody should
fare the seas", said an inscription on the
tympana above the old entrance of the
Tropenmuseum, where treasures from the
Dutch East Indies and other colonies were
once stored. Spices, coffee, sugar, tobacco
and tropical hardwood were among the
products imported from the East.
Niet iedereen ging het zeegat uit. Tot
de opvoeding van welgestelden hoorde,
zeker in de achttiende eeuw, een zogenoemde 'Grand Tour' naar Rome, waar de
klassieke cultuur werd bestudeerd. Sommige kunstenaars en architecten volgden
dit voorbeeld. Wie verre reizen doet heeft
niet alleen veel te verhalen, maar doet ook
allerlei ideeën op. En souvenirs, van eenvoudiger aandenkens als prenten tot complete interieuronderdelen. Zo is rond 1790
in Rome een aantal schouwen in de burgemeesterswoning door de toenmalige eigenaar voor zijn grachtenhuis aangeschaft.
The sea wasn't the only place to go. Especially during the eighteenth century, the
education of the well-to-do was not complete without the so-called 'Grand Tour' to
Rome, where they studied classical culture.
Some artists and architects followed in
their footsteps. By travelling far away, they
not only had many stories to tell, but also
gathered new ideas and souvenirs ranging
from simple mementos, like engravings, to
complete interior decorations. The chimneys in the mayor's residence are a good
example, bought around 1790 in Rome by
the owner of the canal house at the time.
De minder ondernemende, welgestelde
Amsterdammer hoefde de deur niet uit.
Hij keek vanuit zijn zaal in het Amsterdamse grachtenhuis uit op het zorgvuldig
geregisseerde stukje groen in de tuin,
werd omringd door de meest exotische
en fantasierijke landschapsschilderingen
– al dan niet met een moraliserend klassiek
of bijbels thema – terwijl boven zijn hoofd
op het plafond geschilderde, dan wel
gestucte goden door de lucht snelden.
En wie het thuis wat eenvoudiger had
kon altijd nog naar het Stadhuis op de
Dam gaan, zoals alle buitenlandse reizigers en toeristen deden. Iedereen kon
naar binnen lopen in deze onbetwiste
vijfsterrenattractie, vol van symboliek.
In het fronton brachten alle werelddelen
hulde aan de stedemaagd, de hemel- en
wereldkaarten in de Burgerzaal plaatsten
de Amsterdammer in het middelpunt van
het universum. Waarom zou je nog op
reis willen?
For the wealthy, but less adventurous Amsterdammer, there was no need, however,
to leave home. From the drawing room of
his Amsterdam canal house, he would have
a view of a carefully landscaped garden.
Inside the house, he would be surrounded
by the most exotic and imaginative landscape paintings, some with moralistic
themes from classical mythology or the
Bible Above his head, gods, both painted
or in stucco, would sweep through the skies.
If he happened to have a more humble
home, he could visit the City Hall on Dam
square, just like all foreign travellers and
tourists did. Everybody could enter this
building, which was a genuine five-star
attraction, filled with symbolism. The
pediment showed how the world's continents paid tribute to the city virgin, while
the celestial and world maps in the Burgerzaal placed people from Amsterdam firmly
at the centre of the universe. With all this
around you, who would need to travel?
door
andere
ogen
through
different
eyes
Lisette
Breedveld
is architectuurhistorica en dit jaar projectleider
van Open Monumentendag Amsterdam.
is architectural historian and project leader of this
year's edition of the Amsterdam Heritage Days.
Hoe begon jouw avontuur bij Open
Monumentendag Amsterdam? In
2010 ben ik begonnen als vrijwilliger.
Ik leidde toen rond in het NIOD, verrichtte hand- en spandiensten en organiseerde lezingen. Toen ik in 2012
programmacoördinator werd, ben ik
naar Amsterdam verhuisd. In 2013
vervulde ik nogmaals deze functie om
vervolgens dit jaar de uitdaging van
projectleider aan te gaan. Wat is ervoor nodig om het weekend in goede banen te leiden? Een enthousiast
team, leuke vrijwilligers, goede gympen en een superstrak draaiboek.
Welke doelen wil je dit jaar bereiken? Ik wil een breder en internationaal publiek bereiken. Het is belangrijk
dat ook jongeren zich realiseren dat
erfgoed super belangrijk is voor een
stad. Bovendien is het leuk om toeristen te laten zien dat Amsterdam meer
is dan het Anne Frank Huis, de grachten en het Rijksmuseum. Waar moeten bezoekers dit jaar naar toe? Het
Haarlemmermeerstation. Het is nu
nog een spontaan stukje stad. Elke
keer als ik er langs fietste, vroeg ik me
af hoe het er van binnen uit zou zien.
Dat is wel een tik van me, hoor. Ik
probeer altijd ergens naar binnen te
gluren, op zoek naar panden voor
Open Monumentendag Amsterdam.
How did your adventure
start at Amsterdam Heritage
Days? In 2010 I started as a
volunteer. I gave tours at the
NIOD Institute for War, Holocaust and Genocide Studies,
and organised lectures, among
other things. In 2012, when I
became a Program Coordinator, I moved to Amsterdam. In
2013, I continued as Program
Coordinator, but this year,
I took on the challenge
of becoming Project Leader.
What are the necessary ingredients for a successful
Heritage weekend? You
need an enthusiastic team,
great volunteers, good shoes
and a well-organised schedule.
What goals do you want to
achieve this year? I want to
reach a wider international
audience. It is key that young
people realise how important
heritage is for a city. Moreover,
it is nice to show tourists that
Amsterdam is more than just
the Anne Frank House, the
canals and the Rijksmuseum.
Where should visitors go this
year? They should go to Haarlemmermeer station. It is a part
of the city that still feels spontaneous. Every time when I
passed this building on my
bicycle, I wondered how it
would look inside.That's one of
my idiosyncrasies, though. I try
to peek inside a place, looking
for buildings that could qualify
for Amsterdam Heritage Days.
9
monumenten monuments
10
‹ in dit monument kunt u iets drinken en/of iets eten
‹ in this monument you can have a drink and /or food
‹ dit monument doet mee aan het avondprogramma
‹ this monument is participating in the evening program
‹ dit monument is rolstoeltoegankelijk
‹ this monument is wheelchair accessible
‹ dit monument doet mee aan het juniorprogramma
‹ this monument is participating in the juniorprogram
praktische
informatie
practical
information
Centraal Informatiepunt
De Bazel 53 Vijzelstraat 32 | za & zo
09.00-17.00 u | Haal hier het programmaboekje en laat u informeren over routes,
toegang en het programma. Gereserveerde kaartjes kunt u hier ophalen op:
donderdag 11/09 van 10.00-12.00 u
vrijdag
12/09 van 10.00-12.00 u
zaterdag
13/09 van 09.00-11.00 u
zondag
14/09 van 09.00-11.00 u
Central Information Center
De Bazel 53 Vijzelstraat 32 | sat & sun
09.00-17.00 h | Here you can obtain
the program booklet, route and access
information. Booked tickets can be
picked up here at:
Thursday 11/09 from 10.00-12.00 h
Friday 12/09 from 10.00-12.00 h
Saturday 13/09 from 09.00-11.00 h
Sunday 14/09 from 09.00-11.00 h
Gratis | beperkte toegang
Deelnemende monumenten zijn gratis te
bezoeken en grotendeels van 10.00-17.00 u
geopend. Afhankelijk van de drukte, sluit
de rij voor een monument om 16.45 u.
Vanwege de beperkte publiekscapaciteit
zijn de volgende monumenten en activiteiten alleen via reservering toegankelijk:
10 d'Vijff Vlieghen
11 Koninklijk Paleis Amsterdam
15 Koninklijke wachtkamer
19 The Grand
21 Doelen Hotel
27 Clipper Stad Amsterdam
28 Marineterrein
41 InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
44 Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen
49 Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
A Oostelijk Havengebied p. 69
B Langs tolhuizen en sluizen p. 69
C Over koninklijke wegen p. 70
D Leeuwen van het CS p. 70
G Delfts blauw Amsterdam p. 72
H VOC-schip 'Amsterdam' p. 72
P Schiphol Behind the Scenes p. 76
Q Havenrondvaart p. 77
700 jaar langs de Noord/Zuidlijn p. 79
UNESCO-boot p. 82
Varen door de grachten p.87
Free | Limited access
All participating monuments are free to
visit. Almost all monuments are open from
10.00-17.00 h. Depending on the crowds,
the waiting lines for a monument will close
at 16.45 h. Because of limited public access,
the following monuments and activities
are only accessible upon prior reservation:
10 d'Vijff Vlieghen
11 Koninklijk Paleis Amsterdam
15 Koninklijke wachtkamer
19 The Grand
21 Doelen Hotel
27 Clipper Stad Amsterdam
28 Marineterrein
41 InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
44 Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen
49 Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
A Eastern Docklands p. 69
B Along toll roads and locks p. 69
C On royal roads p. 70
D Central Station's lions p. 70
G Delftware Amsterdam p. 72
H VOC ship 'Amsterdam' p. 72
P Schiphol Behind the Scenes p. 76
Q Harbour tour p. 77
700 years along the North/South line p. 79
UNESCO canal cruise p. 82
Cruising the canals p.95
Via www.amsterdam.nl/openmonumentendag kunt u van 1 t/m 7 september
online kaartjes reserveren. Blijf op
de hoogte via onze nieuwsbrief,
Facebook en Twitter.
At www.amsterdam.nl/openmonumentendag you can reserve your tickets from
1 to 7 September. Stay up to date by
subscribing to our newsletter, or by
following us on Facebook and Twitter.
11
1
Haarlemmermeer
station
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Amstelveenseweg 264
2
Paardentramremise
Schinkelhaven
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Eerste Schinkelstraat 16
www.binnenpret.org
www.museumtramlijn.org
Het kopstation Amsterdam Willemspark,
zoals het station oorspronkelijk heette, werd
in 1914 gebouwd door H. van Emmerik in
opdracht van de Hollandsche Electrische
Spoorweg naar ontwerp van K.P.C. de Bazel.
Het stationsgebouw in landhuisachtige stijl
bevatte op de begane grond het kantoor
van de stationschef, de stationshal, een
goederenlokaal en de wachtkamers. Het
stationsgedeelte is nu in gebruik door de
Electrische Museumtramlijn. Op de verdieping waren dienstwoningen voor de restaurateur en de stationschef, bereikbaar via
afzonderlijke spiltrappen, met slaapkamers
op zolder. In 1950 werd het spoornet van
de Haarlemmermeerspoorlijnen gesloten
voor reizigersvervoer. Van april tot en met
november verzorgt de Electrische Museumtramlijn Amsterdam volgens dienstregeling
ritten in historische trams tussen het station
en Bovenkerk/Amstelveen.
Amsterdam Willemspark Terminal, as it was
originally named, was built in 1914 by H. van
Emmerik from a design by K.P.C. de Bazel. It
was commissioned by the Dutch Electric Railway Company, which despite its name, only
used steam trains on its Haarlemmermeer
network. The station building in a country
mansion style is comprised of the stationmaster's office on the ground floor, as well
as the main hall, storage and waiting rooms.
The private dwellings of the restaurant manager and the stationmaster were on the first
floor, and could be reached by separate
winding staircases. Their bedrooms were
situated in the loft. By 1950, this network was
no longer used for passenger trains. Presently,
the station is partly used as a restaurant. The
Amsterdam Tramway Museum gives rides in
historical electric trams between the station
and Bovenkerk/Amstelveen every Sunday
between Easter and November.
Deze voormalige paardentramremise van de
Amsterdamse Omnibus Maatschappij is een
ontwerp uit 1884 van G.B. en A. Salm. Het
T-vormige complex, met de hoofdingang
aan de Amstelveenseweg en zijingangen
aan de Eerste Schinkelstraat en de Schinkelhavenstraat, omvatte een rijtuigenstalling,
paardenstallen, een smederij en een dienstwoning. De paardentramlijn LeidsepleinAmstelveenseweg week in 1904 voor de
elektrische tramlijn 1 en de remise werd
een garage. De Salms hebben zich voor
de uitbundig gedecoreerde voorgevel in
eclectische stijl aan de Amstelveenseweg
laten inspireren door Russische voorbeelden,
een land waarmee zij intensieve contacten
onderhielden. De eveneens in eclectische
stijl opgetrokken gevels in de zijstraten hebben een soberder karakter. Tegenwoordig
huist er het uit de kraakbeweging voortgekomen cultureel complex De Binnenpret.
This former horse-drawn tram depot of
the Amsterdamse Omnibus Maatschappij
(Amsterdam Bus Company) was designed
in 1884 by G. B. Salm and A. Salm. The
main entrance of this T-shaped complex
was on Amstelveenseweg, with side entrances
on Eerste Schinkelstraat and Schinkelhavenstraat. It was comprised of a coach house,
horse stables, a blacksmith's shop, and
staff accommodation. The horsecar line
Leidseplein-Amstelveenseweg made way
for electric tram line 1 in 1904 and the depot
was turned into a garage. Through close
contact with Russia, G.B. Salm and A. Salm
found inspiration in Russian examples for
the highly decorated, eclectic style façade
on Amstel-veenseweg. The side-street façades are also built in an this similar style,
but have an austere character. Currently,
it is home to the cultural complex De
Binnenpret.
te zien stationruimtes | restauratie | collectie
historische trams | Havenstraatterrein te doen
doorlopend rondleidingen | historische
tramritten | zie p. 79 toegang vrije inloop
to see station areas | restaurant | historical
trams to do guided tours | historical tram
rides p. 79 admission open access
te zien Schinkelhavenstraat 27hs | poppentheater | binnenplein | restaurant toegang
vrije inloop
to see Schinkelhavenstraat 27hs | puppet
theater | courtyard | restaurant admission
open access
12
13
3
Aalsmeerder
Veerhuis
za 10.00-17.00 u
Sloterkade 21
4
www.amsterdamsebinnenstad.nl
Tramremise
De Hallen
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Hannie Dankbaarpassage
www.dehallen-amsterdam.nl
Herberg De Bonte Os, ofwel het Aalsmeerder
Veerhuis, dateert uit 1634. Het bestaat uit
een dwarshuis met trapgevel en haaks daarop een achtervleugel. Het voorhuis heeft aan
weerszijden een opkamer. Een gevelsteen
boven de ingang toont het lossen van biervaten vanuit twee schuiten. Eén van de afgebeelde huisjes op de kade lijkt sterk op het
Aalsmeerder Veerhuis. Het toen nog buiten
de stad gelegen pandje, op een knooppunt
van diverse land- en waterwegen, was het
beginpunt van de trekschuitlijn naar Aalsmeer.
Hier was ook een overtoom, waar kleine
platte schuiten met handkracht over de dam
tussen de Overtoomse Vaart en de Schinkel
werden getrokken. In 1965 werd het veerhuis
gerestaureerd in opdracht van eigenaar
Vereniging Hendrick de Keyser. Sindsdien
voert het Veerhuis het gezamenlijk secretariaat van een aantal Amsterdamse restaurerende instellingen en monumentenorganisaties.
Inn 'De Bonte Os', also known as the
Aalsmeerder Veerhuis (ferry house), dates
back to 1634. It consists of a house at a
right angle to the road, with a stepped gable
and a perpendicular rear wing. The front
house has raised rooms on both sides.
A plaque above the entrance displays the
unloading of beer barrels from two barges.
One of the houses depicted on the quay
resembles the Aalsmeerder Veerhuis. The
building was the starting point of the canal
barge line to Aalsmeer, which was situated
outside of the city at the junction of several
roads and waterways. There was also a
portage where small flat barges were pulled
manually between Overtoomse Vaart and
the Schinkel. In 1965, the ferry house was
restored on request of owner, Vereniging
Hendrick de Keyser. Since then, the Amsterdam heritage organizations have been
headquartered here.
De voormalige tramremise van de Gemeentetram werd gebouwd in 1901, toen de Amsterdamse trams elektrisch werden. Het
ontwerp in Berlagiaanse stijl ontstond op
de tekentafels van de Dienst der Publieke
Werken en werd uitgevoerd in baksteen,
met spaarzaam gebruik van natuursteen.
Imposant zijn de bedrijfshallen met de lichtkappen en de ijzeren polonceauspanten
op zuilen van gietijzer. Naast negen hallen
omvatte het complex kleed- en wasruimten,
kantoren, een ketelhuis, een kantine en vier
dienstwoningen. De verspringende gevels
aan de kant van het Bellamyplein dateren
uit 1914, toen de hallen werden verlengd.
Tussen 1932 en 1996 waren deze in gebruik
als centrale werkplaats. In opdracht van
de Tramremise Ontwikkeling Maatschappij
transformeerde Architectenbureau J. van
Stigt het complex onlangs tot een centrum
voor media, mode, ambacht en cultuur.
The former depot of Amsterdam's trams
was built in 1901, when the city trams became electric. The Berlage-style design
was created on the drawing boards of the
Department of Public Works and executed
in brick, with limited use of natural stone.
Particularly impressive are the industrial
buildings with skylights and the iron Polonceau trusses on columns of cast iron. In addition to nine halls, the complex included
changing and washrooms, offices, a boiler
house, a canteen and four service homes.
The staggered façades on the side of the
Bellamyplein date back to 1914, when the
halls were extended. Between 1932 and
1996, these were used as a central workshop. Commissioned by the Tramremise
Development Company Architect, J. van
Stigt, the complex was transformed into
a centre for media, fashion, crafts and
culture.
te zien hal | grote zaal | gang | tuin toegang
vrije inloop (max 30)
to see halls | corridor | garden admission
open access (max 30)
te zien hallen | bibliotheek za 11.00-16.00 u
Filmhallen za & zo 10.00 | 10.30 | 11.00 | 11.30 u
te doen expositie | juniorprogramma p. 86
jongerengidsen p. 85 toegang vrije inloop
to see halls | corridor | library sat 11.00-16.00 h
film halls sat & sun 10.00 | 10.30 | 11.00 | 11.30 h
to do exhibition | junior program p. 86 | junior
guides p. 85 admission open access
14
15
5
Hal 17
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Tollenstraat 61
6
www.stadsherstel.nl
Hotel De Hallen
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Bellamyplein 47
www.hoteldehallen.com
De uitbreiding van de tramremise van de
Gemeentetram tussen de Tollensstraat en de
Bilderdijkkade kwam gereed in 1908, vijf jaar
na het hoofdcomplex. Het bestaat uit een
dienstwoning op Tollenstraat 61, een daarachter gelegen voormalige timmerwerkplaats
en een dito schilderwerkplaats, een langgerekte bedrijfshal met staalskelet en glazen
kap, een evenwijdig daaraan lopend voormalig houtmagazijn, dat vroeger door een muur
was afgescheiden, en een dubbele dienstwoning in sobere Hollandse renaissancestijl
op de Bilderdijkkade. Terwijl het hoofdcomplex wordt gekenmerkt door rijke en gedetailleerde gevels met Jugendstilmotieven, is
hier een traditionele bouwstijl toegepast. Het
geheel is eigendom van Stadsherstel Amsterdam, dat het een gecombineerde woon- en
werkbestemming geeft. Er komen hier onder
meer een modecentrum en een passage van
de Tollensstraat naar de Bilderdijkkade.
The extension of the city tram depot between
the Tollensstraat and Bilderdijkkade was completed in 1908, five years after the main complex. It consists of a staff residence on Tollenstraat 61, a former carpentry workshop behind
it, a painter's workshop, an elongated industrial building with a steel frame and glass cover, a former timber warehouse running parellel
to it (which used to be separated by a wall)
and a double staff house in restrained Dutch
Renaissance style on Bilderdijkkade. While the
main complex is characterised by well-maintained façades with intricate details and Art
Nouveau motifs, this building is traditional in
style, without many special architectural features. The property is owned by Stadsherstel
Amsterdam, and has been turned into a combination of residential and business locations.
Among other things, clothing boutiques and
a passage from Tollensstraat to Bilderdijkkade
are also planned to be built here.
Het fraai gedetailleerde, kasteelachtige
voorgebouw aan het Bellamyplein werd
in 1903 gebouwd als het kantoor van de
Gemeentetram. Van het interieur resteert
nog een houten Jugenstil trap met een rijk
gesneden beginbaluster. Achter dit ondiepe
bouwdeel strekt zich de voormalige remisehal 1 uit, met ruim eenentwintig meter de
breedste van de vijf. In deze hal, die voornamelijk werd gebruikt voor montage- en revisiewerkzaamheden, lagen zes tramsporen
met werkkuilen en rolwagens. Het is de
enige hal die is voorzien van een Engelse
spant met vallende diagonalen, in plaats
van polonceauspanten. Het achterste deel
van de hal is nu in gebruik als openbare bibliotheek. Het voorste, met de ingang in het
voormalige kantoorgedeelte, herbergt Hotel
De Hallen, ingericht door 100% Ontwerpers.
In de eetzaal zijn nog tramrails zichtbaar.
This beautifully detailed, castle-like
building on the Bellamyplein was built
in 1903 to house the office of the City
Tram public transport agency. The original
wooden staircase is still intact, with a richly
carved Art Nouveau banister. Behind this
section of the building, we find former tram
shed 1, which is the widest of the five halls
at 21 metres. In this hall, which was used
mostly for assembly and repair works,
there were six tracks with working pits
and trolleys. It is the only hall that features
a pitched truss with falling diagonals instead of Polonceau trusses. The rear part
of the hall is now used as a public library.
The front part, with the entrance in the
former office area, is now home to Hotel
De Hallen, with decor by 100% Ontwerpers. The old tram tracks are still visible
in the dining room.
te zien gerestaureerde hal toegang vrije
inloop
to see restored hall admission open access
te zien lobby | bar | restaurant | beschikbare
kamers te doen rondleidingen toegang
vrije inloop
to see lobby | bar | restaurant | available
rooms to do guided tours admission open
access
16
17
7
Westerkerk
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 13.00-17.00 u
Prinsengracht 281
8
www.westerkerk.nl
Huis Bartolotti
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Herengracht 170
www.hendrickdekeyser.nl
De Westerkerk geldt als de voornaamste
religieuze schepping van stadsbouwmeester Hendrick de Keyser. Voltooid in 1631
was het bij de inwijding de grootste protestantse kerk ter wereld. De toren kwam
in 1638 gereed. Ongebruikelijk is de combinatie van een driebeukig hoog middenschip met twee hoge dwarsschepen. Aan
de kant van de Keizersgracht bevond zich
tot 1655 een kerkhof. Op 8 oktober 1669
werd hier Rembrandt ter aarde besteld.
In de kerk zelf werd tot 1865 nog begraven.
De romp van de toren is van baksteen, de
eerste geleding van de bovenbouw van
zandsteen en de twee bovenste geledingen
zijn van hout, bekleed met zandkleurig
geschilderd lood. Het fraaie orgel dateert
van 1686 en werd in 1727 uitgebreid; de
orgelluiken zijn beschilderd door Gerard
de Lairesse.
The Westerkerk is the main religious creation of city architect Hendrick de Keyser.
When it was built in 1631, it was the largest
Protestant church in the world. The tower
was completed in 1638. The combination
of the three-aisled structure with a high
nave and the two high transepts is special
due to its rarity. A cemetery was located on
the Keizersgracht side until 1655, but the
church was still used for burials until 1865.
Rembrandt was entombed here on 8 October
1669. The body of the tower is made of brick
and the first section of the superstructure
is made of sandstone, while the two upper
layers are made of wood and lined with lead.
The lead parts were painted in a sand colour
to suggest the use of natural stone. The
beautiful organ dates from 1686 and was
enlarged in 1727; the organ shutters were
painted by Gerard de Lairesse.
Dit grote dwarshuis in Hollandse renaissancestijl werd rond 1620 gebouwd voor de
schatrijke bankier-koopman Willem Bartolotti
van den Heuvel, vermoedelijk naar ontwerp
van Hendrick de Keyser. Na te zijn gesplitst
in 1689, werd de rechter huishelft in 1735 gemoderniseerd in Lodewijk XIV-stijl. Hoogtepunten zijn de stucgang, een gebeeldhouwde marmeren schouw van J.B. Xavery en de
grisailles van Jacob de Wit. In 1755 werd een
enorm achterhuis toegevoegd, waarin onder
meer een schitterende rococozaal met schilderingen van J. Buttner werd geconstrueerd.
Bij een herinrichting van het voorhuis in 1873
werden de arcadische landschapsschilderingen van Isaac de Moucheron en een plafondstuk van Jacob de Wit van elders ingebracht.
De linker huishelft bevat waardevolle negentiende-eeuwse interieurelementen. Eigenaar
Vereniging Hendrick de Keyser houdt tegenwoordig kantoor in beide panden.
This large house is in Dutch renaissance
style and was built around 1620 for the rich
banker and trader Willem Bartolotti van den
Heuvel. It was presumably designed by
Hendrick de Keyser. After being divided in
1689, the right side of the house was modernised in Louis XIV style. The highlights
include the stucco hallway, a carved marble
fireplace by J.B. Xavery and the grisailles by
Jacob de Wit. In 1755, a massive annex was
added, which includes a magnificent rococo
hall with paintings by J. Buttner. In 1873 the
front room was redecorated. The Arcadian
landscape paintings of Isaac the Moucheron
and a ceiling painting by Jacob de Wit were
brought in from elsewhere. The left side of
the house includes valuable interior elements
from the nineteenth century. Vereniging
Hendrick de Keyser, the organization that
owns the complex, now has offices in both
properties.
te zien kerkzaal toegang vrije inloop
to see church hall admission open access
te zien stijlkamers | achterhuis | hal | keuken
drijvende kelder | tuin te doen expositie
doorlopende dia projectie toegang vrije
inloop (max 45)
to see style rooms | back aisle | hall | kitchen
floating cellar | garden to do exhibition
slide-show admission open access (max 45)
18
19
9
Huis Pauw
za 10.00-17.00 u
Herengracht 168
www.houseofamsterdam.com
Dit huis uit 1637, naar ontwerp van Philips
Vingboons, heeft de oudste halsgevel in
Amsterdam. Opdrachtgever was Michiel
Pauw, burgemeester, bewindvoerder van
de WIC en stichter en naamgever van twee
nederzettingen in de Nieuwe Wereld: Pavonia aan de Hudsonbaai en het eiland Pavonia
voor de Braziliaanse kust. Hij was ook ridder
van Sint Marcus, wat de gevleugelde Venetiaanse leeuwen verklaart naast het enorme
wapenschild in de gevel. Rond 1730 werd
het huis verbouwd, waarbij de interieurs in
Lodewijk XIV-stijl werden gemoderniseerd.
De marmeren gang en het indrukwekkende
trappenhuis kregen stucdecoraties van de
Van Logterens. Jacob de Wit en Isaäc de
Moucheron maakten samen de behangselschilderingen in de voor- en achterkamer.
De plafondschilderingen hier zijn ook van
De Wit. Het pand wordt tegenwoordig
verhuurd voor exclusieve evenementen.
This house from 1637 by Philips Vingboons is
the oldest neck gable of Amsterdam. The
construction was ordered by the mayor,
Michiel Pauw, who was also Governor of the
West India Company (WIC) and founder of
two settlements named Pavonia: one on the
Hudson Bay, and one on the island off the
Brazilian coast. Pauw was also in other
prominent positions, including being a
knight of Saint Marcus, which explains the
winged Venetian lions next to the big coat
of arms on the façade. Around 1730, the
house was renovated and the interior was
modernised in Louis XIV style. The marble
hall and the impressive staircase received
stucco decorations from the Van Logterens.
Jacob de Wit and Isaäc de Moucheron
created the wallpaper paintings in the front
and back room. The ceiling paintings are
made by De Wit as well. People can now
rent the building for exclusive events.
te zien bel-etage | trappenhuis | loft
toegang doorlopend rondleidingen
in groepjes
to see first floor | staircase | loft admission
ongoing guided tours in groups
20
door
andere
ogen
through
different
eyes
Waarom ben je vrijwilliger
bij Open Monumentendag
Amsterdam? In het begin van
mijn studententijd ben ik in Amsterdam komen wonen. Het klikte
meteen tussen mij en de stad.
Ik houd van haar geschiedenis,
de grachtengordel, Amsterdamse
School, maar ook de Bijlmer
fascineert me. Hoewel ik er niet
voor heb gestudeerd, probeer ik
altijd met een architectuurhistorische bril naar de stad te kijken. Ik
bezocht Open Monumentendag
Amsterdam met regelmaat, daarom besloot ik eens wat terug te
doen. Dit jaar leid je rond in
Huis Pauw. Hoe bereid je je
voor? Veel lezen. Tijdens de
voorbezichtiging leer je het monument kennen, maar vaak blijft
het pand niet veel meer dan een
bakstenen huls met ramen. Een
beetje saai, dus. De geschiedenis en de bewoners maken het
pand interessant.Wat kunnen
de bezoekers van jouw rondleiding verwachten? Ik vind het
leuk om op zoek te gaan naar
de rafelrandjes. Bezoekers zijn
vaak verrast als ik kanttekeningen maak bij de Nederlandse
geschiedenis. Zo stond ik vorig
jaar in Huis de Vicq, een prachtig, luxueus pand aan de Herengracht. De bewoners lagen soms
krom om de huur te betalen. Het
huis is heel vaak verkocht, families die daar woonden gingen
aan de lopende band failliet.
Hans
Blanken
is redacteur bij schrijversplatform deFusie én
voor het tweede jaar vrijwilliger. Op zaterdag
leidt hij rond in Huis Pauw.
is historian, editor for writers' platform deFusie
and, for the second year, a volunteer. On
Saturday he will be the guide at Huis Pauw.
Why are you a volunteer at the Amsterdam
Heritage Days? I moved to Amsterdam when
I started studying. There was an instant connection between the city and me. I love its history,
the canal belt and the architecture of the Amsterdam School, but I also think de Bijlmer is
fascinating. Although it's not what I studied,
I always try to look at the city through an architectural perspective. I've taken part in the Amsterdam Heritage Days many times, so I decided to give something back. This year, you will
be the guide at Huis Pauw. How do you
prepare yourself? By reading a lot. During the
pre-visit, you get to know the monument itself,
but the property usually is some bricks with
windows. Kind of boring. The history of the
building and its residents make it interesting.
What can visitors expect from your tour?
I like to look for unique details. Visitors of the
Amsterdam Heritage Days are often surprised
when I show the other side of Dutch history.
Last year, I was the guide at Huis de Vicq, a
beautiful and luxurious building on the Herengracht. In general, the residents struggled to
pay the rent for this house. It has been sold a
lot, because the families who lived there went
bankrupt all the time.
21
10
d'Vijff Vlieghen
za & zo beperkt toegankelijk | limited access
Spuistraat 294-302
11
www.vijffvlieghen.nl
Koninklijk Paleis
Amsterdam
za & zo beperkt toegankelijk | limited access
Dam
www.paleisamsterdam.nl
In 1627 begon Jan Janszoon Vlijghen een
kleine taveerne aan de Nieuwezijds Achterburgwal, sinds de demping van 1886 Spuistraat geheten. Na eeuwen van verbouwingen en verval kocht Nicolaas Kroese in 1938
de onbewoonbaar verklaarde bouwval. Hij
vestigde er een kunst- en antiekwinkel die,
merkwaardigerwijs, al snel uitgroeide tot wijnproeverij en restaurant. Het d'Vijff Vlieghen
gedoopte etablissement verwierf na de Tweede Wereldoorlog een ware cultstatus dankzij
de flamboyante Kroese, die bevlogenheid
combineerde met uitstekend gastheerschap.
Hij kocht vier naastgelegen panden, verbond
deze onderling en richtte er negen eetkamers
in met verschillende oud-Hollandse thema's,
zoals de Rembrandtkamer en Ridderkamer.
Vele wereldsterren waren decennia lang
graag te gast bij de in 1971 overleden Kroese.
Het inmiddels uit twaalf panden bestaande
restaurant is nu in handen van een hotelketen.
In 1627, Jan Janszoon Vlijghen opened
a small tavern on the Nieuwezijds Achterburgwal canal, which was closed in 1627
and has been known as Spuistraat ever
since. After centuries of renovations and
decay, Nicolaas Kroese purchased the condemned building in 1938. He established
an art and antique shop which, curiously,
turned into a restaurant and wine tasting
place. After Second World War, d'Vijff
Vlieghen became a popular spot due to
Kroese being a great, flamboyant host.
He bought the four buildings next door,
connected them and designed nine dining
areas with traditional Dutch themes, such
as the Rembrandt Room and the Knight's
Room. Many international celebrities loved
to dine at Kroese's restaurant until the owner
died in 1971. The restaurant, which currently
spans twelve buildings, is now part of a
hotel chain.
Dit 'achtste wereldwonder' verrees vanaf
1648 als nieuw stadhuis van Amsterdam,
naar ontwerp van Jacob van Campen. De
buitengevels in de stijl van het Hollands classicisme zijn opgetrokken in zandsteen; in het
interieur is rijkelijk marmer gebruikt. De imposante centrale Burgerzaal is door trappenhuizen en galerijen verbonden met de bestuursvertrekken. In de Vierschaar naast de
hoofdingang werden doodvonnissen uitgesproken. Diverse gebeeldhouwde decoraties
onderstrepen de Amsterdamse hegemonie
in de overzeese handel. Het timpaan van de
voorgevel toont zeegoden en -wezens die
de stad eer bewijzen. Aan de achterzijde
neemt Amsterdam de schatten in ontvangst
van de verschillende continenten. Marmeren
kaarten van het Westelijk en Oostelijk halfrond in de vloer van de Burgerzaal verwijzen
eveneens naar de wereldhandel. Sinds 1808
fungeert het gebouw als Koninklijk Paleis.
This '8th Wonder of the World', designed by
Jacob van Campen, was erected in 1648-1667
to serve as Amsterdam's new town hall.
The façades are Dutch classicist style and
were built using sandstone. The interior is
made up of lavish marble. The imposing
central Burgerzaal is connected to the
board rooms by staircases and galleries.
In the Vierschaar (tribunal) next to the main
entrance, people were sentenced to death.
Several carved decorations emphasise
Amsterdam's hegemony in overseas trade.
The tympanum on the façade shows sea
gods and creatures that honour the city of
Amsterdam, seated in the middle. The rear
of the building showcases Amsterdam's
treasures from various continents. Marble
maps of the Western and Eastern Hemisphere on the floor of the Burgerzaal also
reference world trade. Since 1808, the
building has served as a Royal Palace.
te zien gehele pand toegang reserveren
verplicht p. 11
to see entire building admission reservation
required p. 11
te zien diverse ruimtes toegang reserveren
verplicht p. 11
to see various spaces admission reservation
required p. 11
22
23
12
Korenmetershuis
za 10.00-17.00 u
Nieuwezijds Kolk 28
13
www.heemschut.nl
Havengebouw
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
De Ruijterkade 7
www.havengebouw.nl
In het Korenmetershuis, een van de vijf nog
bestaande Amsterdamse gildehuizen, vergaderden de korenmeters en korenzetters.
Voordat het graan in de Korenbeurs werd
verhandeld, verdeelden zij de partijen in de
door het gilde vastgestelde standaardmaten.
Het gebouw uit 1620 is opgetrokken in de
stijl van de Hollandse renaissance. Boven
de hoofdingang zijn in reliëf de attributen
van het gilde aangebracht: de maat, ton en
strijker. Het pand heeft in de loop van de tijd
verschillende wijzigingen ondergaan. In 1896
werd het, geheel in lijn met de toen heersende denkbeelden over restauratie, gereconstrueerd naar de vermeende toestand
van 1620. Om geen ruimte te verliezen, kreeg
het zadeldak echter niet de oorspronkelijke
gedaante van een schilddak terug. Sinds
1967 is het Korenmetershuis de zetel van
Erfgoedvereniging Heemschut.
The grain measurers and grain assessors
used to gather in the Korenmetershuis
(Grain Measurer's House), one of the five
remaining Amsterdam guild houses. Before
the grain was traded at the Korenbeurs
(Grain Market), they divided the bundles in
a standard size adopted by the guild. The
building was built in 1620 in Dutch Renaissance style. The attributes of the guild are
embossed above the entrance: the gauge,
barrel and string. The property has undergone several changes over the course of
time. In 1896 it was restored to the presumed state of 1620, completely in line
with the prevailing ideas about restoration.
In order not to waste any space, however,
the saddle roof was not restored to its
original hipped roof. Since 1967, the
Korenmetershuis has been the seat of
the Heemschut Heritage Association.
Het in 1965 opgeleverde Havengebouw is
een fraai voorbeeld van het latere werk van
W.M. Dudok. Anders dan in zijn vroegere werken streefde hij hier naar eenheid en eenduidigheid in een grote, eenvoudige vorm. De
decoratieve, esthetische gevelbehandeling
blijft kenmerkend voor Dudok. De verregaande systematisering van het bouwproces en
prefabricage van gevelelementen, balken en
trappen, leidden tot een relatief korte constructieperiode. De kern van de dertien verdiepingen tellende toren wordt gevormd
door een 'facilitaire' middenas, bestaande uit
twee liften, trappenhuizen en sanitaire ruimten. Daaromheen ontwierp Dudok open kantoortuinen. De twee bovenste etages, die een
prachtig uitzicht over het havengebied en de
stad bieden, bestemde hij tot bedrijfskantine
en restaurant. In het Havengebouw zetelt de
directie van de Haven van Amsterdam. In
2007 werd het gemeentelijk monument.
Havengebouw (Harbour Building), finished
in 1965, is a fine example of the later work
of W.M. Dudok. Unlike his earlier works,
for Havengebouw, he aimed for unity and
homogeneity in a large, simple shape. The
decorative, aesthetic façade treatment remains an iconic element of Dudok's work.
Because of the extensive systematization
of the construction and prefabrication of
façade elements, beams and staircases,
the construction period was relatively short.
The core of the thirteen-storey tower consists of a 'facility center' with two elevators,
stairwells and restrooms. Around it, Dudok
designed open office gardens. The top two
floors, which offer stunning views over the
harbour and the city, became a company
cafeteria and restaurant. The managing
board of the Port of Amsterdam works at
the Harbour Building. In 2007, the building
became a municipal monument.
te zien bibliotheek | eerste verdieping
trappenhuis toegang via rondleiding
doorlopend in groepjes
to see library | first floor | staircase
admission ongoing guided tours in groups
te zien restaurant | uitzicht 13e verdieping
te doen presentatie & wandeling p. 70
rondvaart p. 77 toegang vrije inloop | 13e
verdieping via rondleidingen in groepjes
to see restaurant | view from 13th floor to do
presentation & walk p. 70 | boat tour p. 77
admission open access | 13th floor with
guided tours in groups
24
25
14
Grand Café 1e Klas
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Centraal Station | Perron 2B
15
www.restaurant1eklas.nl
Koninklijke
wachtkamer
za & zo beperkt toegankelijk | limited access
Centraal Station | Perron 2B
www.ns.nl
Deze drie restauratieve ruimtes bezitten, met
de nabijgelegen Koninklijke wachtkamer, de
gaafste en fraaiste originele interieurs van
Pierre Cuypers' stationsgebouw uit 1889.
Het tegenwoordige restaurant 1e Klas toont
rechts bij binnenkomst een rijk gesneden
houten buffet, versierd met vazen. Boven
de eikenhouten lambriseringen met briefpaneelmotieven zijn de wanden beschilderd
met kleurige vegetatieve motieven. Dat geldt
ook voor de plafonds met stalen balken, zowel hier als in de andere hoofdruimte. In de
intieme tussengelegen eetkamer dragen de
wanden voorstellingen van wild en gevogelte
in een landschap. De Pub 1e Klas, voorheen
de wachtkamer eerste klasse met eetgelegenheid, laat boven de deuren naar het perron schilderingen zien van de vier seizoenen.
Boven de vroegere deur naar de keuken
is de fabel van de vos en de ooievaar
uitgebeeld.
Together with the neighbouring Royal Waiting Room, these three restaurant areas are
the most beautiful and intact original interiors of The Central Railwaystation of Amsterdam, which was designed by Pierre Cuypers
and opened in 1889. When you enter the
current Restaurant 1e Klas, you can see the
richly carved wooden buffet on the right,
which is decorated with vases. Above the
oak wood panelling, the walls are painted
with colourful motifs of vegetation. The same
goes for the ceilings in this and the other
main room, which both have steel beams.
The walls of the intimate dining room in
between show a landscape with game and
birds. The Pub 1e Klas, formerly the first-class
waiting room and dining area, has paintings
depicting the four seasons above the doors
to the platform. Above the door that used to
lead to the kitchen, there is a painting of the
fable of the fox and the stork.
De Koninklijke wachtkamer bevindt zich in het
oostelijke hoekpaviljoen van Pierre Cuypers'
Centraal Station uit 1889. Op de voorgevel
prijken prominent de koninklijke wapens en
een stenen beeld van de Wapendrager des
Konings. Reliëfs van beeldhouwer Eduard
Roskam beelden verschillende fases van het
reizen uit. In de entreehal kunnen de koninklijke reizigers rechtstreeks vanuit hun rijtuig of
auto de monumentale eretrap bestijgen naar
perronniveau. De wandschilderingen naar
ontwerp van Georg Sturm in deze ruimte stellen de vier menselijke levensstadia voor. De
wachtsalon is voorzien van kostbare parketvloeren, eikenhouten briefpaneellambrizering
en geschilderde voorstellingen van fabels van
Aesopus. Het bronzen hang- en sluitwerk, de
armaturen, de marmeren schouw, de meubels
en vloerkleden zijn origineel. Een hek van verguld siersmeedwerk scheidt de wachtruimte
van het perron.
The Royal waiting room is located in
the eastern corner pavilion of Pierre
Cuypers's Central Station, which opened
in 1889. The facade prominently shows the
royal coat of arms and a stone statue of
the royal shield bearer. Reliefs by sculptor
Eduard Roskam represent different stages
of a journey. In the entrance hall, royal
travellers can climb the monumental
staircase of honour to the platform
directly from their carriage or car. The
wall paintings in this space by Georg
Sturm depict the four stages of human
life. The waiting lounge has luxurious
parquet floors, oak panelling and paintings
of Aesop's Fables. The bronze latches
and hinges, the fixtures, the marble mantelpiece, the furniture and carpets are all
original. A gilded fence of ornamental
wrought ironwork separates the waiting
area from the platform.
te zien restaurant | eetkamer | pub toegang
vrije inloop
to see restaurant | dining room | pub
admission open access
te zien entreehal | eretrap | wachtsalon
toegang reserveren verplicht p. 11
to see hall | staircase | salon admission
reservation required p. 11
26
27
16
Tuchtcollege &
Beurs van Berlage
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Damrak 243
17
www.beursvanberlage.nl
Oude Kerk
za 10.00-18.00 u | zo 13.00-17.30 u
Oudekerksplein 23
www.oudekerk.nl
Berlage's beroemde beursgebouw uit 1903
bood oorspronkelijk onderdak aan vier verschillende beurzen en diverse gerelateerde
organisaties. De grote zaal met de indrukwekkende ijzeren kapconstructie van de
voormalige goederenbeurs vormt de kern
van het gebouw. In 1914 betrok de Raad
voor de Scheepvaart, later het Tuchtcollege
geheten, de vrijgekomen directiekamer van
de Vereniging voor de Effectenhandel, die
zelf een nieuw eigen beursgebouw betrok
aan Beursplein 5. Deze prachtig ingerichte
directiekamer, die nog vrijwel geheel in originele staat verkeert, heeft tot 2012 gediend
als zittingszaal van het college. Het rijk gedecoreerde eikenhouten interieur uit 1903,
inclusief het meubelbeslag, is van Berlage
zelf. J. Mendes da Costa verzorgde het
houtsnijwerk samen met de beeldhouwer
R. Hack. Het meubilair werd geleverd door
de firma H.F. Jansen&Zonen uit Amsterdam.
Berlage's iconic building dates from 1903.
It originally housed four different stock exchanges and several related organisations.
The main hall of the former commodity exchange forms the core of the building, with
an impressive iron roof construction, curved
trusses and corbels. In 1914, the Board of
Navigation, later called the Disciplinary
Board, started using the former boardroom
of the Exchange Association, which had
moved to a new building at Beursplein 5.
Until 2012, this beautifully appointed boardroom, almost entirely in its original condition, served as the Disciplinary Board's hearing room. The richly decorated oak interior,
dating back to 1903, and the furniture fittings, were designed by Berlage himself.
J. Mendes da Costa provided the woodcarvings, along with sculptor R. Hack. The
furniture was supplied by the H. F. Jansen
& Sons firm of Amsterdam.
Dit oudste nog bestaande gebouw van Amsterdam is gebouwd in de eerste helft van
de veertiende eeuw. Vanwege de drassige
grond is de constructie van deze driebeukige
hallenkerk in Hollandse baksteengotiek licht
gehouden met grote vensters en houten
gewelven. De sierlijke toren en de puntgevels van de zijkapellen en de kooromgang
geven het gebouw zijn karakteristieke silhouet. De ruimtewerking van het interieur
is indrukwekkend; samengestelde bundelpijlers dragen de deels nog beschilderde
tongewelven. Door de schitterende glas-inloodvensters uit 1555 valt kleurig licht in de
brede zijbeuken. Sinds de Tweede Wereldoorlog vonden diverse langdurige restauratiecampagnes plaats. Recentelijk is de
zerkenvloer gerestaureerd; het beroemde
Vater-Müllerorgel is nu aan de beurt. Het
gebouw wordt nog steeds als kerk gebruikt
en is eveneens een expositieruimte.
Started in the first half of the fourteenth
century, this is the oldest surviving building
in Amsterdam. Because of the soggy ground,
the construction of this Dutch Brick Gothic
hall church, with its nave and two side aisles,
was kept light, with big windows and wooden vaults. The elegant tower, the gables of
the side chapels and the ambulatory give
the building its characteristic silhouette. The
spatial effects of the interior are impressive;
combined bundle pillars carry the weight of
the partially painted barrel vaults. Colourful
light shines through the gorgeous stained
glass windows (dating from 1555) into the
broad side aisles. Since Second World War,
several long-term restoration campaigns
have taken place. Recently, the tombstone
floor and the big Vater-Müllerorgan will be
restored soon. The building is still in use as
a church and has also become an exhibition
hall for modern art in recent years.
te zien gehele pand te doen rondleidingen
toren beklimmen toegang vrije inloop
to see entire building to do guided tours
climb tower stairs admission open access
te zien gehele pand (m.u.v. toren) te doen
rondleidingen | speciale concerten: meer
info zie onze website toegang vrije inloop
to see entire building (tower excluded) to do
guided tours | special concerts: see more
info on our website admission open access
28
29
18
Gulden Trip
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Sint Annenstraat 12
19
www.muziekinstrumentenfonds.nl
The Grand
za & zo beperkt toegankelijk | limited access
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197
www.sofitel-legend-thegrand.com
Dit woonhuis uit 1565, onderdeel van het
Blauwlakenblok, werd gebouwd voor de
schatrijke kousenhandelaar Frans Stoffelsz.
Het verrees op de plek waar sinds 1380 één
van de eerste stenen huizen van Amsterdam
stond. Totaal vervallen, werd het eind twintigste eeuw door Stadsherstel Amsterdam
afgebroken en gereconstrueerd. Tijdens dit
proces werden het houtskelet en een plavuizenvloer uit 1380 blootgelegd. De oudst
bekende plafondschildering van Amsterdam,
in 1585 aangebracht op de balken in de
opkamer, werd gerestaureerd teruggeplaatst.
De renaissancemotieven verraden de sterke
invloed van de contemporaine Antwerpse
kunst. Dat geldt ook voor de voorgevel,
ontworpen door de Antwerpenaar Hans
Vredeman de Vries. Het pand huisvest het
Nationaal Muziekinstrumenten Fonds, dat
hoogwaardige muziekinstrumenten in
bruikleen geeft aan talentvolle musici.
This residence from 1565 was built for Frans
Stoffelsz, a rich stockings salesman. It is part
of the Blauwlakenblok, where one of the first
stone houses was built in 1380. At the end
of the 20th century, the building was completely worn down. Stadsherstel Amsterdam
demolished and reconstructed the building.
While doing this, the wooden skeleton of
the building and a tiled floor from 1380 were
revealed. The oldest ceiling painting in Amsterdam, created in 1585 on the beams, was
renovated and returned to its original place.
The Renaissance motifs indicate the influence
of the art of Antwerp during this period. This
also holds for the façade, which is the only
one in Amsterdam with ornaments in the
early Renaissance style of Hans Vredeman
de Vries of Antwerp. Currently, the building
houses the Nationaal Muziekinstrumenten
Fonds, which hires out high quality music
instruments to talented musicians.
Het vijftiende-eeuwse Sint-Ceciliaklooster
werd na de Alteratie van 1578 bestemd tot
Princenhof, een stadslogement voor vorstelijke bezoekers. Tussen 1652 en 1655 fungeerde
het tijdelijk als stadhuis, waarna de Amsterdamse Admiraliteit het betrok. Die zetelde al
in het aangrenzende Sint-Catharinaklooster.
In 1662 werd tussen de voormalige kloosterhoven een hoofdgebouw in classicistische stijl
opgetrokken. Boven de palladiaanse pilastergevel is in het fronton onder meer de Hollandse Leeuw met het wapen van de Admiraliteit
afgebeeld. Toen het stadhuis op de Dam in
1808 Koninklijk Paleis werd, betrok het stadsbestuur het complex wederom. In 1926 voltooide gemeentearchitect A.R. Hulshoff een
grandioze uitbreiding in Amsterdamse Schoolstijl. Hoogtepunten zijn de voormalige raadszaal en trouwzaal, beide met werk van vooraanstaande kunstenaars. Sinds 1992 huist in
het complex hotel Sofitel Legend The Grand.
Monastery Saint Cecilia was built in
the 15th century and was converted
into lodging for important guests (e.g.
stewards) after the Alteration of 1578.
The Amsterdam Admiralty began using
another part of the building in 1597.
The building was the city hall for a short
amount of time and was renovated into
a 'Sea Office' in 1662. Above the Palladian
pilasters in the pediment, the Dutch lion
is depicted carrying the weapon of the
Admiralty. When the city hall on Dam
square was turned into the Royal Palace
in 1808, Saint Cecilia became the city hall
again. In 1926, A.R. Hulshoff, the city architect, supervised the expansion of the building in Amsterdam School style. The former
council hall and the marriage hall are worth
a visit as they contain works by renowned
artists. Since 1992 the building has been
owned by Hotel The Grand.
te zien begane grond | entresol | souterrain
tuin | Oliphantsgang te doen muziek met
introductie toegang vrije inloop (max 30)
to see ground floor | entresol | souterrain
garden | Oliphant ally to do music with small
presentation admission open access (max 30)
te zien diverse ruimtes toegang reserveren
verplicht p. 11
to see various spaces admission reservation
required p. 11
30
31
20
Waalse Kerk
za 10.00-17.00 u
Walenpleintje 159
21
www.waalsekerk-amsterdam.nl
Doelen Hotel
za & zo beperkt toegankelijk | limited access
Nieuwe Doelenstraat 26
www.nh-hotels.nl
De Waalse Kerk werd in 1409 gebouwd
als de kapel van het inmiddels verdwenen
Paulusbroederklooster. Na de Alteratie
van 1578 werd deze overgedragen aan
Franstalige protestantse vluchtelingen uit
de Spaanse Nederlanden. Ruim een eeuw
later sloten ook veel uit Frankrijk gevluchte
hugenoten zich aan bij de Waals Hervormde
Gemeente. De kerk kreeg in 1616 een extra
ingang aan de noordzijde: de poort aan de
Oude Hoogstraat werd ontworpen door
Hendrick de Keyser. Het classicistische
poortje aan de voorgevel stamt uit 1647.
De van oorsprong tweebeukige kerk werd
in 1661 uitgebreid met een zuidbeuk.
Het orgel van Christian Müller is uit
1733. Het pleintje voor de kerk heet
sinds 1976 officieel het Walenpleintje.
Elke zondag is er in de Waalse Kerk
nog een dienst in het Frans.
The Walloon Church was built in 1409 as
the chapel of the now defunct Brothers
of Saint Paul order. After the Alteration of
1578, it was transferred to French Protestant
refugees from the Spanish Netherlands.
Over a century later many Huguenots
that had fled France joined the Walloon
Reformed Church. The church got an
additional entrance from the north in
1616; the gate on the Oude Hoogstraat
was designed by Hendrick de Keyser. The
classical front gate dates from 1647. The
church, originally consisting of a nave and
a northern aisle, was expanded with a south
aisle in 1661. The organ by Christian Müller
dates from 1733. The square in front of
the church has officially been called the
Walenpleintje (Walloon Square) since 1976.
Every Sunday there is still a French service
held at the church.
Het Doelen Hotel, naar ontwerp van J.F. van
Hamersveld, werd in 1883 op de locatie van
een ouder logement opgetrokken in Franse
renaissancestijl en is nadien nog diverse
malen verbouwd. Het hotel heeft vele groten
der aarde als gast gehad, van keizerin Sissi
en Sarah Bernhardt tot The Beatles. Een
gevelsteen aan de smalle kopse gevel bij
de Staalstraat memoreert de middeleeuwse
vestingtoren Swych Utrecht die hier stond.
Twee levensgrote beelden van zeventiendeeeuwse schutters op de gevel aan de BinnenAmstel van H.A. Teixeira de Mattos verwijzen
naar de verdwenen Kloveniersdoelen op deze
plek, waarvoor Rembrandt zijn 'Nachtwacht'
schilderde. Op de eerste etage is nog origineel muurwerk van de zeventiende-eeuwse
Doelenzaal zichtbaar. De voorname
vestibule en het trappenhuis uit 1883
verkeren nog in oorspronkelijke staat.
The Doelen Hotel by J.F. van Hamersveld
was built in French Renaissance style in
1883 on the site of a previous hotel, and
has since been renovated several times.
The hotel has welcomed many worldfamous guests, from Empress Sisi and Sarah
Bernhardt to The Beatles. A plaque on the
narrow end wall on the Staalstraat commemorates the medieval fortress tower,
Swych Utrecht, that used to stand here.
The two life-size statues of a 17th-century
militia, by H.A. Teixeira de Mattos, on the
Binnen-Amstel façade allude to the Kloveniersdoelen, a building that was once situated here and was the setting for Rembrandt's
Night Watch. On the first floor, the original
brickwork of the 17th-century Doelenzaal
is still visible. The stately vestibule and
staircase from 1883 radiate luxury and
are still in original condition.
te zien kerkzaal toegang vrije inloop
to see church hall admission open access
te zien entreehal | trappenhuis | eerste verdieping toegang reserveren verplicht p. 11
to see hall | corridor | first floor admission
reservation required p. 11
32
33
22
Portugese
Synagoge
zo 10.00-17.00 u
Mr. Visserplein 3
23
www.portugesesynagoge.nl
Huis De Pinto
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Sint Antoniesbreestraat 69
www.huisdepinto.nl
De Portugese Synagoge van Amsterdam,
kortweg de 'snoge', is het symbool van de
glorietijd van de Sefardische gemeente aan
het einde van de zeventiende eeuw. Stadsbouwmeester Elias Bouman voltooide het
machtige gebouw in 1675. Het vertoont de
kenmerken van de 'strakke stijl': sobere ornamentiek, afgewogen proporties, strakke
vormgeving en symmetrie. Deze synagoge
was indertijd de grootste ter wereld en
heeft een belangrijke voorbeeldfunctie
vervuld. Uniek is het interieur, dat vrijwel
gaaf bewaard is gebleven. In 1978-1993
werd de synagoge in fasen geheel gerestaureerd; in 2010 volgde restauratie van de
omringende lage aanbouwen. De bibliotheek van het bijbehorende seminarium
Ets Haim bevat een zeldzame collectie
joodse boeken en handschriften. In 2003
plaatste UNESCO de collecties in het
Memory of the World Register.
The synagogue is a symbol of the glory days
of the Sephardic community that thrived
here at the end of the seventeenth century.
While he served as chief mason in the construction of the Great Synagogue just across
the street, Elias Bouman was chief architect
for the construction of the Portuguese Synagogue in 1675. It was built in the 'austere
style', featuring sparse ornaments, balanced
proportions and a sleek, symmetrical design.
The synagogue was the biggest in the world
at the time, and served as an example for
many after. The almost perfectly preserved
interior is equally unique. The synagogue
was completely restored in stages from 1978
to 1993. The lower surrounding buildings
were restored in 2010. The library, Ets Haim,
holds a collection of rare Jewish books and
manuscripts. In 2003, this collection was
added to the UNESCO Memory of the
World Register.
Het huis staat aan een straat, maar heeft
de allure van een grachtenpand. Het werd
omstreeks 1605 gebouwd als een dubbel
trapgevelhuis. Uit deze tijd resteren nog een
overwelfde kelder en enkele balkenplafonds.
Omstreeks 1680 vond een ingrijpende verbouwing plaats voor de Sefardische bankiersfamilie De Pinto. Achter de voorname zandstenen classicistische voorgevel ging
een rijk interieur schuil, waarvan diverse
plafondschilderingen bewaard zijn, die
deels zijn gereconstrueerd of aangevuld met
moderne voorstellingen. Het pand werd in
de jaren '70 bijna gesloopt voor de aanleg
van een vierbaans autoweg dwars door de
Nieuwmarktbuurt. Buurtbewoners en monumentenbeschermers, onder aanvoering van
Geurt Brinkgreve, hebben dit verhinderd. Na
jarenlang als openbare bibliotheek te hebben
gefungeerd, huist hier sinds kort een Literair
en Cultureel Ontmoetingscentrum.
The house is on a street, but it has the
allure of a canal house. It was built around
1605 as a double gable house. From this
period, a vaulted cellar and a few beamed
ceilings still remain. Around 1680, the
house was extensively renovated for the
Sephardic banking family De Pinto. Behind
the grand classicist sandstone façade was
a rich interior. Many of its various ceiling
paintings have been preserved, partially
reconstructed and completed with modern
impressions. The property was nearly
demolished in the 1970s to make way for
a four-lane motorway through the Nieuwmarkt neighbourhood. Local residents and
monument conservationists led by Geurt
Brinkgreve were able to prevent this, and
Stadsherstel Amsterdam restored the dilapidated building. After having served as a
public library for many years, it now functions as a Literary and Cultural Centre.
te zien synagoge | schatkamers | bijgebouwen
bibliotheek te doen rondleidingen 11.00
12.00 | 14.00 | 15.00 u toegang vrije inloop
to see synagogue | treasuries | extensions
library to do guided tours | 11.00 | 12.00
14.00 | 15.00 h admission open access
te zien ontvangsthal | bibliotheek | hal | trap
te doen lezingen p. 74 toegang vrije inloop
to see hall | library | staircase to do lectures
p. 74 admission open access
34
35
24
Armeense Kerk
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 12.00-17.00 u
Krom Boomssloot 22
25
Montelbaanstoren
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Oudeschans 2
www.armeensekerk.org
Amsterdam kende sinds 1627 een kleine
gemeenschap van Armeense kooplieden,
die onder meer ruwe zijde importeerden
uit Perzië. Zij vestigden zich graag in de
Lastage vanwege de zijdeververijen daar.
In 1666 werd hier de eerste bijbel in het
Armeens gedrukt en in 1695 de eerste
Armeense wereldkaart. In 1714 stichtten
de 'Persianen' in een pakhuis aan de Krom
Boomssloot een kerk. De gepleisterde, door
lisenen gelede gevel kreeg in 1749 een
zandstenen portaal in Lodewijk XIV-stijl.
Het deurstuk toont het Lam Gods, het stichtingsjaar en een herdenkingstekst in het
Armeens. Bijzonder fraai zijn de Lodewijk XV
smeedijzeren stoephekken. In 1874 werd het
gebouw een rooms katholieke school en
kreeg het een extra verdieping. De kerkzaal
werd in 1989 gereconstrueerd, toen het gebouw opnieuw een Armeense kerk werd.
In 1627, a small community of Armenian
merchants settled in Amsterdam. They
traded raw silk, imported from Persia, and
lived in the Lastage area because of the
silk dyers who operated there. In 1666, the
first Armenian Bible was printed and 1695
brought the first Armenian world map. In
1714, the so-called 'Persianen' founded a
church in a warehouse on the Krom Boomssloot. It has a stucco façade accentuated by
pilaster strips. In 1749, a sandstone portal in
Louis XIV style was added. Above the door
the Lamb of God is shown, along with the
year of its founding and a commemorative
text in Armenian. Particularly attractive is the
Louis XV wrought-iron fence. In 1874, the
building became a Catholic school and an
extra floor was constructed. The church hall
was renovated in 1989, when the building
again became an Armenian church.
Deze verdedigingstoren uit 1516, gebouwd
toen het industriegebied Lastage bij de
stad werd getrokken, verloor zijn defensieve
functie na een volgende stadsuitbreiding. In
1606 ontwierp stadsbouwmeester Hendrick
de Keyser een deels houten, elegante opbouw, waarmee de hoogte van de Montelbaanstoren op 48 meter kwam. Bovenin
kwamen een uurwerk en enkele luidklokken,
wat in dit deel van de stad, zonder kerken,
geen overbodige luxe was. In 1611 moest de
topzwaar geworden en verzakte toren, die is
gefundeerd op 'huiden' (plaggen), in allerijl
worden rechtgetrokken en gestut. In 1852
dreigde sloop, maar in 1878 werd het Stadswaterkantoor in de Montelbaanstoren gevestigd, waarvan de opvolgers van Waternet
tot 2006 gebleven zijn. Sinds de restauratie
in 2009, wordt de toren, die eigendom is van
de gemeente, verhuurd aan particulieren.
This defense tower was built in 1516, when
the industrial area Lastage became part of
the city. When the next city expansion occurred, the tower lost its function as defense
tower. In 1606, Hendrick de Keyser designed
a partially wooden, elegant superstructure,
increasing the height of the tower to 48
metres. A clock and some bells were placed
at the top of the tower – no luxury for this
part of the city, which had no churches.
However, the weak foundations of the
tower could not hold its weight. In 1611,
it had to be straightened in an emergency
renovation. In 1852, demolition of the tower
was imminent, but from 1878 until 2006,
the Waternet and its predecessors have
been housed in the tower. Now the tower
is owned by the city of Amsterdam. It was
renovated in 2009 and is now privately let.
te zien gehele pand toegang vrije inloop
to see entire building admission open access
te zien gehele pand (m.u.v klokkentoren)
toegang doorlopend rondleidingen in
groepjes
to see entire building (bell tower excluded)
admission ongoing guided tours in groups
36
37
26
Zeemanshuis
zo 10.00-17.00 u
Kadijksplein 18
27
www.ywamamsterdam.org
Clipper Stad
Amsterdam
zo beperkt toegankelijk | limited access
Kattenburgerplein 1
www.scheepvaartmuseum.nl
Het Zeemanshuis werd in 1856 gesticht naar
Anglo-Amerikaans model. Initiatiefnemers
waren enkele reders en notabelen, die zeelieden tijdens hun verlof uit handen van ronselaars en andere kwalijke invloeden wilden
houden. In het Zeemanshuis genoten zij tegen een kleine vergoeding volpension, met
eigen kamers, ontspanningsfaciliteiten en
zelfs gratis lessen aan de Zeevaartschool. De
kasteelachtige aanblik van het oorspronkelijke
ontwerp van A.N. Godefroy verdween met
de latere ophoging van de vleugels tussen
de torens en het verwijderen van kantelen,
vlaggenmasten en andere detaillering. Van
het originele interieur resteert niets meer,
maar een verbouwing door H.A.J. Baanders
rond 1923 leverde prachtig met geglazuurde
tegels beklede gangen en trappenhuizen op.
Deze ontvangen daglicht door glas-in-loodramen van de fameuze Haarlemse firma
Bogtman, vol verwijzingen naar de zeevaart.
The 'Seaman's House' was founded in 1856,
according to the Anglo-American model.
The founders were a group of shipowners
and notables who wanted to protect sailors
from 'sleep bosses' (bad landlords) and other
negative influences. During their leave from
the hands of recruiters, the sailors enjoyed
full board for a small fee, including private
rooms, leisure facilities and even free classes
at the Maritime Academy. The castle-like appearance of the original design by A.N. Godefroy disappeared with the subsequent raising of the wings between the towers and the
removal of battlements, flagpoles and other
detailing. The original interior completely
disappeared, but a reconstruction by H.A.J.
Baanders around 1923 yielded beautifully
glazed tiled corridors and staircases. The
light passes through the stained-glass
windows, full of maritime references, by
the famous Bogtman firm of Haarlem.
Clipper Stad Amsterdam, in 1997-2000 gebouwd op initiatief van Randstad Holding en
de Gemeente Amsterdam, is gemodelleerd
naar het koopvaardijschip De Amsterdam uit
1854. Klippers waren de snelste zeeschepen
van hun tijd. Ze vervoerden goederen, passagiers en post over de hele wereld. De Stad
Amsterdam gaat terug op negentiendeeeuwse bouwtekeningen, maar bezit geavanceerde boordapparatuur. Gebouwd op
de Amsterdamse Oranjewerf door werkloze
schoolverlaters, won zij een jaar na haar
doop al de prestigieuze Cutty Sark Tall Ships
Race. Het schip werd in 1998 en 1999 afgewerkt bij Het Scheepvaartmuseum. In 2009
reisde de Stad Amsterdam voor de VPRO
gedurende acht maanden in het spoor van
de Beagle, het legendarische schip van
Charles Darwin. Zij wordt ingezet voor handelsmissies van de gemeente Amsterdam,
cruises en als opleidingsschip.
Clipper Stad Amsterdam, built in 1997-2000
on the initiative of Randstad Holding and
the City of Amsterdam, is modelled after
the merchant ship De Amsterdam from 1854.
Clippers were the fastest seagoing vessels of
their time. They transported goods, passengers and mail throughout the world. The
design of the Stad Amsterdam is based on
19th-century drawings, but the ship has
advanced on-board equipment. Built at the
Amsterdam 'Oranje' wharf by unemployed
dropouts, it won the prestigious Cutty Sark
Tall Ships Race one year after its baptism. In
1998 and 1999, the construction of the ship
was completed at the National Maritime Museum. In 2009, the Stad Amsterdam travelled
for the VPRO (public broadcasting company)
for eight months in the wake of the Beagle,
Charles Darwin's legendary ship. It is used
for trade missions of the municipality of
Amsterdam, cruises and as a training ship.
te zien hal | trappenhuis | binnenplaats | torentje toegang doorlopend rondleidingen
in groepjes
to see hall | staircase | courtyard | tower
admission ongoing guided tours in groups
te zien gehele schip toegang reserveren
verplicht p. 11
to see entire ship admission reservation
required p. 11
let op! geldig identificatiebewijs verplicht
attention! valid identification required
38
39
28
Marineterrein
zo beperkt toegankelijk | limited access
Kattenburgerstraat 7
29
www.marineterrein.nl
Werf 't Kromhout
za 10.00-17.00 | 18.00-23.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Kruithuisstraat 25
www.kromhoutmotorenmuseum.nl
In 1656 liet de Admiraliteit van Amsterdam
op het zojuist aangeplempte Kattenburg 's
Lands Dok aanleggen, voor de bouw van de
oorlogsvloot van de Republiek. Deze werd
bevoorraad vanuit het naastgelegen 's Lands
Zeemagazijn, het huidige Scheepvaartmuseum. Van de zeventiende-eeuwse werf resteren
nog de lange afscheidingsmuur aan de
Kattenburgerstraat, het poortgebouw en
de toegangspoort. Ruim tweehonderdvijftig
jaar groeide de werf, tot ruimtegebrek in
1915 dwong tot verplaatsing naar Den Helder.
Kattenburg bleef in gebruik voor opleiding
en goederenopslag. Rond 1965 werd een
deel van het etablissement opgeofferd aan
de IJtunnel. Liesbeth van der Pol ontwierp in
2001 de opvallende depots van het Scheepvaartmuseum met hun titanium bekleding.
In 2018 ontruimt Defensie het terrein, waarna
het voor het eerst in het bestaan een
publieke bestemming krijgt.
In 1656, the Admiralty of Amsterdam authorized construction of 's Lands Dok, to be used
in production of the Republic's war fleet, on
the newly created Kattenburg island. It was
supplied by the neighboring arsenal 's Lands
Zeemagazijn, which now houses the National
Maritime Museum. The long separation wall
on Kattenburgerstraat, the gatehouse and
the gateway are all that is left of the 17thcentury wharf. During twohundredfifty years
the wharf expanded until the lack of space
forced it to move to Den Helder in 1915.
Kattenburg remained in use for training and
storage. Around 1965, a part of the property
was demolished to build the IJtunnel. In
2001, Liesbeth van der Pol designed the
striking depots of the National Maritime
Museum, which have a titanium coating. In
2018, the Ministry of Defense will clear the
grounds, which will be turned over to the
public for the first time in its existence.
Vanaf 1757 bouwde scheepstimmerman
Doede Janszn. Kromhout op deze plek
kleine zee- en binnenvaartschepen. De
sleepbootreder Daniël Goedkoop sr. kocht
het scheepswerfje in 1867 en breidde het
flink uit. Onder een ijzeren kap verscheen
in 1888 een 40 meter lange stoomhelling.
In 1899 volgde een tweede overkapping.
Goedkoop bouwde ijzeren stoomschepen,
maar legde zich steeds meer toe op machineen motorbouw. In 1908 opende in Amsterdam-Noord de befaamde Kromhout Motoren
Fabriek. 't Kromhout werd verkocht, maar
bleef tot 1970 gedeeltelijk functioneren als
scheepswerf. Tegenwoordig wordt er alleen
nog onderhoud gepleegd. De oosthal is nu
een museum, waar nog werkende motoren
en een negentiende-eeuwse smidse te bewonderen zijn. Het complex is in 2003 door
Stadsherstel Amsterdam gerestaureerd en
uitgebreid met nieuwbouw.
From 1757, shipwright Doede Janszn.
Kromhout used this place to build small
sea-faring and inland vessels. Daniel
Goedkoop Sr., a tugboat operator, bought
the small shipyard in 1867 and expanded
it considerably. In 1888, a 40-metre-long
steam ramp covered by an iron roof was
added. A second canopy followed in 1899.
Goedkoop built iron steamships, but focused
increasingly on machine and engine construction. In 1908, the renowned Kromhout
Engine Factory opened in Amsterdam
Noord. 't Kromhout was sold, but remained
partially functioning as a shipyard until 1970.
Nowadays, it is only used for ship maintenance. The eastern hall is now a museum,
where one can admire working engines and
a 19th-century smithy. In 2003, the complex
was restored and expanded with new buildings by Stadsherstel Amsterdam. It can be
rented for various activities.
te zien voorwerf | archeologische vondsten
toegang reserveren verplicht p. 11
to see shipyard | archaeological objects
admission reservation required p. 11
let op! geldig identificatiebewijs verplicht
attention! valid identification required
te zien werf | Kromhout-motoren te doen
avondprogramma p. 81 | juniorprogramma
p. 85 | zo 13.00 u muziek Leticia Bal toegang
vrije inloop
to see yard | Kromhout engines to do
evening program p. 81 | junior program p. 85
music Leticia Bal | zo 13.00 h admission
open access
40
41
30
Van Gendthallen
za 11.00-17.00 | 22.00-03.00 u | zo 11.00-17.00 u
Jacob Bontiusplaats 1
door
andere
ogen
through
different
eyes
Aldo
Bruining
organiseerde illegale feesten in Amsterdam,
houdt van oude, afgetrapte gebouwen en is
programmamaker bij de creatieve vrijplaats
Amsterdam Roest in de Van Gendthallen.
used to organise illegal parties in Amsterdam
and likes dilapidated buildings. He is a program
coordinator at the creative sanctuary
Amsterdam Roest in the Van Gendthallen.
www.amsterdamroest.nl
Oostenburg werd, met Kattenburg en
Wittenburg, rond 1660 in het IJ aangeplempt.
Eeuwenlang had de Verenigde Oost-Indische
Compagnie hier haar scheepswerven en
magazijnen. In 1897 kreeg A.L. van Gendt
opdracht van de Nederlandsche Fabriek van
Werktuigen en Spoorwegmaterieel, het latere
Werkspoor, om drie fabriekshallen te ontwerpen. Aanleiding was een Zuid-Afrikaanse
mammoetorder voor de bouw van veertig
locomotieven en vierhonderd goederenwagons. De drie hallen ogen als een middeleeuwse kathedraal, met een hoog middenschip en lagere zijbeuken. In 1903 werd, iets
oostelijker, een eveneens kerkachtige vierde
hal gebouwd. De tussenruimte werd in 1905
opgevuld met een vijfde hal in functionalistische stijl. Bugaboo, producent van kinderwagens, vestigt hier binnenkort haar design- en
researchcentrum. Het complex wordt getransformeerd tot creatieve ontmoetingsplek.
Oostenburg, Kattenburg and Wittenberg
were created in the IJ around 1660. For
centuries, the Dutch East India Company
used this area for their shipyards and
warehouses. In 1897, the Dutch Factory
for Tools and Railroad Materials (which later
became Werkspoor) asked A. L. van Gendt
to design three factory halls to accommodate a massive order from South Africa
for forty locomotives and fourhundred
freight wagons. The three halls resemble
a medieval cathedral with a high central
nave and lower side aisles. In 1903, a fourth
church-like hall was built to the east. Two
years later, in 1905, a fifth and more functional hall was built in the space between
the halls. Bugaboo, a producer of strollers
recently started using this space as a design
and research centre. The complex has been
transformed into a venue for creative entrepreneurs, residents and visitors.
te zien hal 3 te doen juniorprogramma p. 87
jongerengidsen p. 85 | graffiti-expositie
avondprogramma p. 80 | meer info zie
onze website toegang vrije inloop
to see hall 3 to do junior program p. 87
junior guides p. 85 | graffiti exhibition
evening program p. 80 | more info see
our website admission open access
42
Is het makkelijk om een horecagelegenheid
in een monument te runnen? Ons dak lekt, we
hebben enkelglas en voor elke voeg die we willen
herstellen moeten we Bureau Monumenten &
Archeologie inschakelen. Het is lastig, maar we
halen het maximale uit dit monumentale pand.
Hoe communiceren jullie over de geschiedenis
van de Van Gendthallen? Aan de bar. Vooral
toeristen vragen hiernaar tijdens het bestellen van
een biertje. Gewone, Nederlandse bezoekers
denken vaak dat de industriële uitstraling door
een interieurarchitect is bedacht. Ook hebben
we sinds kort een mooie graffiti-muur in de loods
waarop het VOC-verleden en de geschiedenis
van de Stork-fabriek is verbeeld. Jongeren en
monumenten. Een goede combinatie? In principe wel. Jongeren zijn op zoek naar authentieke,
originele plekken om uit te gaan. Vooral de onbewerkte plekken, de rafelrandjes van Amsterdam, zijn populair. Daarnaast is de juiste manier
van presenteren, of juist niet presenteren van
een plek of evenement belangrijk. Een dj in een
pand, zoals tijdens Museumnacht is leuk, maar
inmiddels ook wel achterhaald. Er moet ook
nog wat te ontdekken blijven.
Is it easy to run a catering
facility inside a monument?
Our roof leaks, we have single
glazed windows and for any
crack that we want to fix, we
have to contact the Office for
Monuments & Archaeology.
It is difficult, but we make the
most of this historic building.
How do you let people know
about the history of the Van
Gendt Halls? We do that at
the bar. Tourists frequently ask
about this when ordering a beer.
Dutch visitors usually think that
the industrial look was devised
by an interior designer. We also
recently created a beautiful graffiti wall in the warehouse, which
shows the history of the Dutch
East India Company (VOC) and
the Stork factory. Do young
people and monuments mix
well? In principle, I would say
so. Young people are looking
for authentic, original places
to go to. This means that the
undeveloped places – the rough
edges of Amsterdam – are
especially popular. In addition,
the proper way of presenting
(or choosing not to present)
a place or event is important.
Having a DJ in the building was
fun, like on Museum Night, but
now it already sounds a bit old
fashioned. There should also
be something left to discover.
43
31
Koud Gas Gebouw
za 11.00-17.00 | 22.00-03.00 u | zo 11.00-17.00 u
Jacob Bontiusplaats 1
32
www.amsterdamroest.nl
Lloyd Hotel
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Oostelijke Handelskade 34
www.lloydhotel.com
Het zogenaamde Koud Gas Gebouw is
één van de onderdelen van het voormalige
Werkspoorterrein die gehandhaafd blijft
bij de herontwikkeling van Oostenburg. Het
is haaks geplaatst op de achterzijden van de
Van Gendthallen 30 en bestaat uit een langgerekte, smalle bakstenen bedrijfshal en een
korter, breder en hoger bouwdeel ernaast,
beide onder een zadeldak. In het gebouw,
dat dateert van na 1940, werd de energie
opgewekt om de zware machines in de Van
Gendthallen aan te drijven. Het interieur
ademt nog het industriële verleden, onder
kappen die rusten op hangbalkgebinten bestaande uit trekbalken, kapbenen, makelaars
en schuine schoren. Sinds zomer 2011 huist
hier stadsoase Roest, een creatieve vrijplaats
voor theater, film en muziek met café-restaurant. Een stadsstrand aan de Wittenburgervaart, aan de voet van twee havenkranen,
completeert het geheel.
The so-called Koud Gas Gebouw (Cold Gas
Building) is one of the parts of the former
Werkspoor grounds that has been preserved, despite the urban redevelopment
of the Oostenburg area. It is perpendicular
to the rear side of the Van Gendthallen 30
and consists of a long, narrow industrial
brick building and a shorter, wider and taller
building next to it. Both buildings have
pitched roofs. In this building, built after
1940, energy was generated to drive the
heavy machinery in the Van Gendt Halls.
The interior still harkens back to its industrial past. It has hoods resting on suspension beam trusses, consisting of drawbars,
baulks, joggle pieces and raking shores.
Since the summer of 2011, the building
houses 'Roest', a bar which often features
theatre, film and music. A small beach on
the Wittenburgervaart, at the foot of two
harbour cranes, completes the picture.
Het Lloyd Hotel werd in 1921 gebouwd
door Evert Breman voor de Koninklijke
Hollandsche Lloyd. Ontworpen voor de
tijdelijke huisvesting van Oost-Europese
landverhuizers naar Zuid-Amerika, kon het
maximaal negenhonderd mensen herbergen.
Na het faillissement van de rederij in 1935
kwam het landverhuizershotel in handen
van de overheid. Die huisvestte er voor de
Nazi's gevluchte Duitse joden. Tijdens de
Bezetting zaten er verzetsmensen gevangen;
na de Bevrijding collaborateurs. Het Lloyd
Hotel was tot 1989 een (jeugd-)gevangenis,
daarna een plek voor kunstenaars. In 2004
werd een gedurfde transformatie tot een
1- tot 5- sterren hotel voltooid: Lloyd Hotel
& Culturele Ambassade. Alle hotelkamers,
ingericht door bekende ontwerpers, zijn
verschillend. De twee restaurants op de
begane grond staan open voor gasten
en buurtbewoners.
The Lloyd Hotel was built in 1921 by Evert
Breman, with the capacity to house 900
people. The Royal Dutch Lloyd initially used
it to house emigrants from Eastern Europe
en route to South America. The ship owner
went bankrupt in 1935, and the government
took over ownership. It was used by the
Dutch authorities to house Jewish refugees
fleeing from Nazi Germany. During the occupation in Second World War, it was used as
a prison where resistance fighters were held;
after the liberation, it held collaborators.
Until 1989 it was used as a (youth) prison.
After that the building was used by artists,
until its daring transformation in 2004 into a
1- to 5- star hotel. All of the hotel rooms are
unique and bear the imprint of a well-known
designer. There are two restaurants on the
ground floor, accessible to guests and local
residents alike. The hotel also houses a
library and soundproof music room.
te zien gehele pand | stadsstrand te doen
juniorprogramma p. 87 | avondprogramma
p. 80 toegang vrije inloop
to see entire building | city beach to do junior
program p. 87 | evening program p. 80
admission open access
te zien lobby | trappenhuizen | zalen | beschikbare kamers te doen rondleidingen
toegang vrije inloop
to see lobby | staircase | halls | available rooms
to do guided tours admission open access
44
45
33
Quarantaine
gebouw
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Rietlandpark 371-401
34
www.decantine.nl
Koffiehuis
Hollandsche Lloyd
za 10.00-17.00 | 19.00-20.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Oostelijke Handelskade 44
www.khl.nl
Vanaf 1903 vervoerde de Zuid-Amerikalijn,
later Koninklijke Hollandsche Lloyd, emigranten en seizoenarbeiders naar Zuid-Amerika:
aanvankelijk uit Spanje en Portugal, later
vooral uit Oost-Europa. Voordat zij, in afwachting van hun inscheping, het aangrenzende
landverhuizershotel 32 konden betrekken,
moesten zij zichzelf en hun kleren in het Ontsmettingsgebouw laten ontdoen van vlooien
en luizen en zich laten behandelen voor besmettelijke ziektes. Dit gebouw van Evert
Breman uit 1922 was oorspronkelijk door
middel van twee gangen en daartussen een
binnentuin met het hoofdgebouw verbonden.
Het bakstenen bouwwerk in sobere expressionistische stijl bezit een betonskelet en in
het interieur zijn diverse decoratieve details
bewaard gebleven, zoals de fraaie glas-in-lood
vensters in de trappenhuizen. Sinds 2003 zijn
in het pand een eetcafé met expositieruimte,
ateliers en studio's gevestigd.
From 1903, the South America line,
later called Royal Dutch Lloyd, carried
emigrants and seasonal workers to South
America. In the beginning these passengers
were from Spain and Portugal, but later
mostly from Eastern Europe. Before entering
the neighbouring emigrants' inn 32 , they
had to go to the decontamination building
for delousing and to be treated for contagious
diseases. The building was designed by Evert
Breman in 1922 and was originally connected
to the main building by two halls and an inner
garden. The brick building in subdued expressionist style has a concrete frame and
has preserved several decorative interior
details, such as the beautiful stained-glass
windows in the stairwells. Since 2003, the
building has housed a pub with exhibition
space, workshops and studios.
Het koffiehuis van de Koninklijke Hollandsche Lloyd (KHL) van Evert Breman uit 1917
werd, evenals de overige gebouwen van
het rederijcomplex, opgetrokken in sobere,
expressionistisch gedetailleerde baksteenarchitectuur. Het koffiehuis serveerde eenvoudige maaltijden en er werd bier geschonken. De voorzaal was bestemd voor hoger
personeel, de achterzaal voor lager. Die
laatste ruimte diende tevens als aanmonsterkantoor. De eerste verdieping bevatte
een dienstwoning. Na het faillissement van
de KHL en de Tweede Wereldoorlog zaten
er een kruidenierswinkel en een groothandel
in Delfts blauwe souvenirs. In 1997 redde de
Vereniging van Vrienden tot Behoud van het
Voormalig Koffiehuis van de Koninklijke Hollandsche Lloyd het uitgewoonde gebouw
van de slopershamer. Het grondig gerenoveerde en gerestaureerde pand kreeg een
functie als café-restaurant.
The café of the shipping company Koninklijke
Hollandsche Lloyd (KHL) was designed by
Evert Breman and dates back to 1917. Like
the other buildings of the company complex,
it was built in a simple, expressionist style
with detailed brick architecture. The café
served simple meals, and beer was also
served. The front room was intended for
senior staff, with the back room for labourers.
The back room also served as the shipping
company's recruitment office. The first floor
contained a private dwelling. After the bankruptcy of the KHL and the Second World
War, the building housed a grocery store and
a wholesaler of Delftware souvenirs. In 1997,
the association of friends for the preservation
of the café saved the dilapidated building
from demolition. The thoroughly renovated
and restored building now serves as a bar
and restaurant. In the beautiful back room
a variety of cultural activities take place.
te zien ateliers | café | expositieruimte
te doen rondleidingen toegang vrije inloop
to see studios | bar | exhibition room to do
guided tours admission open access
te zien café-restaurant | collectie boeken en
voorwerpen KHL te doen avondprogramma
p. 81 toegang vrije inloop
to see bar-restaurant | collection books and
objects KHL to do evening program p. 81
admission open access
46
47
35
Loods 6
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
KNSM-laan 143
36
www.loods6.nl
Kompaszaal
zo 10.00-17.00 u
KNSM-laan 311
www.kompaszaal.nl
Van 1903 tot 1979 beschikte de Koninklijke
Nederlandse Stoomboot Maatschappij
(KNSM) op dit kunstmatige eiland in het IJ
over een groot terrein met bedrijfsgebouwen
en loodsen. De langgerekte Loods 6 aan
de noordoever uit omstreeks 1925 diende
onder meer voor opslag van goederen.
Later kwamen hier ook voorzieningen voor
passagiers 36. Na het vertrek van de KNSM
namen krakers, kunstenaars en stadsnomaden
de gebouwen en het terrein in bezit. Vanaf
begin jaren '90 ontstond hier een nieuwe
woonwijk. Loods 6 werd grondig verbouwd
tot kantoren, winkels, horeca en ateliers. De
voormalige bagagehal wordt nu gebruikt
voor culturele evenementen en exposities.
Aan de IJ-zijde bleven het laad- en losperron
behouden. De enige havenkraan die daar
nog staat is uit 1958 en werd gebouwd door
de firma Figee.
From 1903 to 1979, the Royal Dutch Steamship Company (KNSM) had a large site with
buildings and sheds on this artificial island in
the IJ. Goods were stored in the elongated
Loods 6 (hangar) on the north bank, which
dates back to 1925. Years later, facilities for
passengers were built here as well 36. Once
KNSM left the structure, squatters, artists
and drifters took over the buildings and the
land. In the early 1990s, a new residential
area was developed. Shed 6 has been fully
converted into offices, shops, restaurants
and studios. The former luggage hall is now
used for cultural events and exhibitions, but
the loading bay has been preserved. The
only port crane left is from 1958 and was
built by the Figee firm.
Bij het honderdjarig bestaan van de Koninklijke Nederlandse Stoomboot Maatschappij
(KNSM) in 1956 werd besloten tot een nieuwe
vertrek- en aankomsthal voor passagiers.
Architect Johan van Tienhoven, een ervaren
ontwerper van luxueuze scheepsinterieurs,
kreeg de opdracht. Tot de uiterst moderne
uitrusting van deze Kompaszaal behoorden
vloerverwarming en rubberen vloerbedekking. Kleurige glasvensters en mozaïeken
dragen bij aan de sfeer van een lounge aan
boord van een oceaanstomer. Een muurschildering van Cuno van den Steene aan de
oostzijde van de zaal, die ook was bedoeld
voor feesten, toont de personificaties van de
Atlantische Oceaan en de zes eilanden van
Caribisch Nederland. De Kompaszaal, bereikbaar via een monumentaal trappenhuis,
is in de jaren '80 door krakers gered van vernieling en wordt tegenwoordig beheerd
door Stichting Kunstwerk Loods 6.
During the centenary of the Royal Dutch
Steamship Company (KNSM) in 1956, the
decision was made to create a new departure
and arrival hall for passengers. Architect
Johan van Tienhoven, an experienced
designer of luxurious ship interiors, was
assigned the task of designing the hall. The
extremely modern facilities of the 'Kompaszaal' (Compass room) included heated floors
and rubber flooring. Coloured glass windows
and mosaics contribute to the atmosphere
of a lounge area on board an ocean liner.
A mural of Cuno van den Steene on the east
side of the hall, which was also designed
for parties, depicts the personifications of
the Atlantic Ocean and the six islands of the
Dutch Caribbean. Accessible by a monumental staircase, the Kompaszaal was saved from
destruction in the '80s by squatters and
is currently managed by the 'Kunstwerk
Loods 6' foundation.
te zien hal | trappenhuis | ateliers | expositieruimte te doen foto-expositie toegang
doorlopend rondleidingen in groepjes
to see hall | staircase | studios | exhibition
room to do photo exhibition admission
ongoing guided tours in groups
te zien hal | zaal | balkon te doen rondleidingen toegang vrije inloop
to see hall | rooms | balcony to do guided
tours admission open access
48
49
37
Perron Oost
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Cruquiusweg 11
38
Herberg Zeeburg
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Zeeburgerdijk 633-641
www.museumperronoost.nl
In 1993 plaveide de Rotterdamse beeldend
kunstenaar en ontwerper Joep van Lieshout
het voormalige perron van de negentiendeeeuwse veemarkt met kasseien en beplantte
het met twee rijen dakplatanen. Op een
stuk overgebleven spoorrails plaatste hij
een goederenwagon zonder lading. Het
monument memoreert de veelzijdige geschiedenis van het Oostelijk Havengebied.
In 2008 opende in het zes vierkante meter
opzichtershuisje Museum Perron Oost,
wellicht het kleinste museum ter wereld.
De bijna honderdvijftigjarige geschiedenis
van het gebied staat hier centraal, met wisseltentoonstellingen die de verhalen tot leven
brengen van veehandelaren, slachters,
koopvaarders, emigranten, vluchtelingen,
jonge delinquenten, krakers en stadsnomaden, die hier allemaal hun sporen achterlieten.
In 1993, the Rotterdam-based artist and
designer Joep van Lieshout fitted the former
platform of the 19th-century cattle market
with cobblestones and planted two rows of
plane trees. On a stretch of leftover rails, he
placed an empty boxcar. This commemorates
the multifaceted history of the Eastern Docklands, where trains arrived and departed
linking the city and the rural countryside.
In 2008, Perron East Museum opened. At
six square metres it may be the smallest museum in the world. The changing exhibitions
bring the stories of the area to life: those of
livestock traders, butchers, merchantmen,
immigrants, refugees, young delinquents,
squatters and drifters, who all left their
mark here.
Op deze plek werd eeuwenlang het over
de Zuiderzee aangevoerde vee ontscheept
en soms ook vetgemest, voordat het werd
verhandeld in Amsterdam. De regenten van
het Oudezijds Huiszitten-armenhuis mochten
hierop accijns heffen. Omstreeks 1675 lieten
zij, op de fundamenten van het gesloopte
fort Zeeburg, een haven, stallen en herberg
construeren. De herberg kreeg zijn huidige
aanzien in 1766 en bestaat uit twee evenwijdige, gepleisterde vleugels met schilddaken
en een portaaluitbouw aan de straatzijde met
fronton. De stallen werden in 1769 aanzienlijk
uitgebreid. De herberg, die nu wordt bewoond, is tot ca. 1915 in bedrijf gebleven.
De veehandel had zich toen al verplaatst
naar de in 1887 gereedgekomen Gemeentelijke Veemarkt iets verderop. Bij archeologisch
onderzoek in 2002 zijn resten teruggevonden
van het in 1938 gesloopte stallencomplex.
For centuries, this was the place where cattle
shipped over the Zuiderzee were unloaded,
and sometimes fattened, before being traded
in Amsterdam. The regents of the poorhouse
'Oudezijds Huiszitten' could levy excise duty
on this. Around 1675, they ordered the construction of a port, stables and an inn on the
foundations of the demolished Zeeburg fort.
The inn got its current look in 1766, which
consists of two parallel plastered wings with
hipped roofs and a portico with pediment
facing the street. The stables were expanded
significantly in 1769. The inn, which is now
a private residence, remained in use until
about 1915. By then the livestock had already
been moved to the nearby Gemeentelijke
Veemarkt (municipal cattle market), which was
completed in 1887. During archaeological
research in 2002, the remains of the stable
block, demolished in 1938, were found.
te zien opzichtershuisje | voormalige perron
spoor | wagon te doen expositie toegang
vrije inloop | opzichtershuisje niet rolstoel
toegankelijk
to see controller house | former platform
rails | wagon to do expo admission open
access | controller house not wheelchair
accessible
te zien hal | keuken | drijvende kelder
te doen rondleiding toegang vrije inloop
(max 10)
to see hall | kitchen | floating cellar to do
guided tour admission open access (max 10)
50
51
door
andere
ogen
through
different
eyes
52
Henk
Genet
woont al bijna veertig jaar samen met
zijn partner Marja Bijlsma, in de voormalige
zeventiende-eeuwse Herberg Zeeburg aan
de Zeeburgerdijk.
lives for more than forty years with his partner
Marja Bijlsma in the former 17th-century
Zeeburg inn on the Zeeburgerdijk.
Hoe is het om in een monument te wonen?
Het huis heeft veel beperkingen. Toen ik hier
bijna veertig jaar geleden kwam wonen, kwamen
de balken op de begane grond tot onder mijn
oren. Om te voorkomen dat de voormalige bewoners van het huis natte voeten kregen, was de
vloer in het verleden opgehoogd waardoor het
plafond heel laag was geworden. Woont u dan
niet liever in een modern huis? Nee. We willen
hier niet meer weg. Het huis is erg uitgewoond,
de fundering is slecht. Er is een hoop geld nodig
om de renovatie rond te krijgen. Toch wonen wij
hier met heel veel plezier. Elke dag geniet ik van
het uitzicht over het water, de groene omgeving
en de oude bomen. Doet u wel eens leuke,
archeologische ontdekkingen? Een aantal jaren
geleden voerde de gemeente werkzaamheden
uit in het Amsterdam Rijnkanaal, op ongeveer
vijfentwintig meter van ons huis. Bij stom toeval
hoorde ik één van de werklui zich afvragen wat
ze met al dat puin aan moesten. Ik belde meteen
Bureau Monumenten & Archeologie. Wat bleek,
de fundamenten van de voormalige zeventiendeeeuwse stallen van de herberg lagen in het water.
What is it like to live in a
monument? The house has
many limitations. When I moved
in nearly forty years ago, I could
hardly move around on the
ground floor without walking
into one of the beams. This was
because the floor was raised in
the past, and the ceiling had
become very low – a measure
to prevent the former residents
from getting wet feet. Would
you prefer to live in a modern
house? No. We don't want
to move. The house is very
run-down, the foundation is
bad. There is a lot of money
needed to renovate the house.
However, we still love living
here. Every day I enjoy the view
over the water, the greenery
and the old trees. Do you ever
discover any archeological
objects? A few years ago, the
municipality was working on the
Amsterdam Rhine Canal, about
20 metres from our house. By
sheer coincidence, I overheard
one of the workers pondering
what to do with all that rubble.
I immediately called the Office
of Monuments and Archaeology. It turned out that they had
stumbled upon the foundations
of the former seventeenth-century stables of the inn, now
below the water.
39
Gemeenlandshuis
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Diemerzeekdijk 27
www.hendrickdekeyser.nl
In het Gemeenlandshuis zetelde vanaf 1727
het bestuur van het hoogheemraadschap
van Zeeburg en Diemerdijk en haar rechtsopvolgers. Dit waterschap hield onder meer
toezicht op de Zuiderzeedijk tussen Amsterdam en Muiden. Het statige pand, ontworpen door de timmermansbaas Cornelis van
der Does, diende als vergaderlocatie en uitvalsbasis bij dijkbewaking. Aan weerszijden
van de weelderig gestucte centrale hal in
Lodewijk XIV-stijl bevinden zich regentenzalen met rijk gedecoreerde schouwen. Boven
waren slaapkamers voor de hoogheemraden
en een dienstappartement. De stal en het
koetshuis in de symmetrisch aangelegde
achtertuin versterken de indruk van een
deftige buitenplaats. Vereniging Hendrick
de Keyser, de huidige eigenaar, heeft het
Gemeenlandshuis onlangs duurzaam laten
restaureren, waarbij het interieur in de
oorspronkelijke toestand is gebracht.
The board of the 'Hoogheemraadschap'
(Dutch Water Board) of Zeeburg and
Diemerdijk and its successors have resided
in the Gemeenlandshuis since 1727. This
water board monitored, among other things,
the Zuiderzee dike between Amsterdam and
Muiden. The stately building, designed by
master carpenter Cornelis van der Does,
served as a meeting location and base for
monitoring the dikes. Regent halls with richly
decorated fireplaces are located on either
side of the opulent stuccoed central hall, in
Louis XIV style. The bedrooms and service
apartment for the Water Board were situated
upstairs. The stable and coach house in the
symmetrically landscaped garden reinforce
the impression of an aristocratic country
estate. Vereniging Hendrick de Keyser, the
current owner, recently had the Gemeenlandshuis renovated, and the interior was
restored to its initial state.
te zien hal | twee zalen op de bel-etage
tuin | koetshuis te doen rondleidingen
toegang vrije inloop
to see hall | two rooms on the first floor
garden | carriage house to do guided tours
admission open access
53
40
Amstel Station
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Julianaplein 1
41
InterContinental
Amstel Amsterdam
za & zo beperkt toegankelijk | limited access
Professor Tulpplein 1
www.amsterdam.intercontinental.com
Het gebouw in functionalistische stijl uit 1939
is van H.G.J. Schelling, die in dat jaar ook het
Muiderpoortstation ontwierp. Het verving
het uit 1843 daterende kopstation Weesperpoort. De heldere scheiding van verkeerstromen naar soort (trein- en tramreizigers, fietsers,
voetgangers, automobilisten) en richting
(aankomend en vertrekkend), door deze te
geleiden via verschillende hoogteniveaus
binnen en buiten het gebouw, had grote
invloed op de na-oorlogse stationsbouw.
De monumentale wandschilderingen in de
hoge, lichte stationshal zijn van Peter Alma
en hebben de dynamiek van de spoorwegen
als thema. In het extra brede westelijke perron (nu metroperron) lag tot 1977 een hellingbaan die werd gebruikt om auto's vanuit
een tunnel het perron op te laten rijden tot
aan de autoslaaptreinen. Tegenwoordig is in
die tunnel een schietbaan gevestigd.
Built in 1939 in a functionalist style by H.G.J.
Schelling, who also designed Muiderpoort
Station, this station was a replacement for
the old Weesperpoort terminal (1843). It
is characterised by its clear separation of
various types of traffic (train, tram, bicycle,
pedestrian, car) and directions (arriving
and departing) via separate levels inside
and outside the building. This innovation
was very influential in post-war railway
station design. The entrance hall has a
high ceiling and plenty of daylight. It is
decorated with a monumental mural painting by Peter Alma, inspired by the dynamics
of railway transport. The western platform
(now used as a metro platform) had a special
ramp so that cars could access the car
sleeper train; this was decommissioned
in 1977. The adjacent tunnel now houses
a shooting range.
Het Amstel Hotel is het oudste grand hotel
van Amsterdam. Het werd in 1867 gebouwd
als onderdeel van Samuel Sarphati's ambitieuze stadsuitbreiding aan weerszijden van de
Amstel, die Amsterdam de allure moest geven
van een moderne Europese stad. Andere
prominente gebouwen waren het verdwenen
Paleis voor Volksvlijt en Theater Carré. Het
Amstel Hotel is daarmee één van de symbolen
van de zogenaamde Tweede Gouden Eeuw,
toen Amsterdam op economisch, cultureel,
infrastructureel en sociaal gebied grote ontwikkelingen doormaakte. Het elegante ontwerp van Cornelis Outshoorn is geïnspireerd
op de Franse classicistische traditie, met toepassing van geprononceerde midden- en
hoekpaviljoens, pilasters en frontons. Het
gebruik van baksteen is echter weer typisch
Hollands. De imposante, met pleisterwerk
uitgevoerde ingangshal ademt nog volledig
de sfeer van de negentiende eeuw.
The Amstel Hotel is the oldest grand hotel
in Amsterdam. It was built in 1867 as part
of Samuel Sarphati's ambitious urban
expansion on both sides of the River Amstel,
which gave Amsterdam the appeal of a
modern European city. Other prominent
buildings in this expansion included the
(later burnt down) Palace of Industry and
Theatre Carré. The Amstel Hotel is one of
the symbols of the 'Second Golden Age',
when Amsterdam made great economic,
cultural, infrastructural and social strides.
The elegant design of Cornelis Outshoorn
was inspired by French classicist tradition,
with the addition of pronounced middle and
corner pavilions, pilasters and pediments.
However, the use of brick is typically Dutch.
The impressive plaster entrance hall still
exudes an atmosphere of the nineteenth
century.
te zien hal te doen rondleidingen toegang
vrije inloop
to see hall to do guided tours admission
open access
te zien lobby | diverse ruimtes toegang
reserveren verplicht p. 11
to see lobby | various spaces admission
reservation required p. 11
54
55
42
Hotel Arena
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
's Gravesandestraat 51
43
www.hotelarena.nl
Rijksakademie van
beeldende kunsten
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Sarphatistraat 470
www.rijksakademie.nl
Het rooms-katholieke St. Elisabeth Gesticht
voor ongeneeslijk zieken werd in 1890 gebouwd door A.C. Bleijs. Van diens oorspronkelijke ontwerp in neo-Hollandse renaissancestijl is nauwelijks de helft uitgevoerd. Het was
het eerste verpleeghuis in Amsterdam dat
een combinatie liet zien van het oude corridorsysteem, met zalen aan gangen, en het
nieuwe paviljoensysteem, met vrijliggende
ruimtes met grote ramen. Het hoofdgebouw
aan de Mauritskade is eigendom van woningcorporatie Ymere en sinds de jaren '80 onderverdeeld in appartementen. In de vleugel aan
de 's-Gravesandestraat is tegenwoordig het
design Hotel Arena gevestigd. De neo-Byzantijnse kapel, waarvan het decoratieschema
door Bleijs zelf is ontworpen, wordt verhuurd
voor evenementen. In de galerij van het schip
wisselen vierkante pijlers en ronde hardstenen
zuilen met rondbogen elkaar af. De vijfzijdige
apsis bevat figuratieve voorstellingen.
The Roman Catholic St. Elisabeth Institute,
a nursing home for the terminally ill, was
built in 1890 by A.C. Bleijs. Not even half of
its original design in neo-Dutch Renaissance
style was executed. It was the first nursing
home in Amsterdam that had a combination
of the ward-based system, with wards on
either side of the hallway, and the new
pavilion system that had separate rooms
with large windows. The main building
on the Mauritskade is owned by housing
corporation Ymere and was subdivided
into apartments in the 1980s. Currently,
the Arena design hotel is located in the wing
on 's-Gravesandestraat. The neo-Byzantine
chapel, with a decoration scheme designed
by Bleijs himself, can be rented for events.
In the gallery of the nave, square pillars alternate with round granite columns with arches.
The five-sided apse contains pictorial representations.
Op het vroegere bolwerk Muiden verrees
in 1865, in opdracht van het Ministerie van
Oorlog, een nieuwe cavaleriekazerne. Vier in
sobere neoclassicistische trant uitgevoerde
vleugels, elk voorzien van een poort, omgeven een rechthoekige binnenplaats. Op de
begane grond waren stallen voor tweehonderd paarden, terwijl op de verdieping en
de zolder manschappen werden gelegerd
en hooi en stro werd opgeslagen. In 1874
kwam naast de kazerne een overdekte manege met een ijzeren kapconstructie. Na de
Tweede Wereldoorlog raakten de gebouwen geleidelijk in onbruik en werden deze
steeds vaker benut als opslagruimtes voor
het naastgelegen Rijksmagazijn van Geneesmiddelen. In de periode 1989-1992 werd het
complex door architect Koen van Velsen ingrijpend verbouwd tot 'kunstenaarsresidency' van de Rijksakademie van beeldende
kunsten, die sinds kort ook de eigenaar is.
In 1865, new cavalry barracks were commissioned by the Ministry of War to be built
at the former Muiden fort. The four wings
were constructed in austere neoclassical style,
each with a gate, and surrounding a rectangular courtyard. On the ground floor, there
were stables for twohundred horses. Troops
were stationed on the first foor and in the
attic, and hay and straw were also stored
there. In 1874, an indoor riding school with
an iron roof was built next to the barracks.
After the Second World War, the buildings
gradually became obsolete and they were
increasingly used as a storage facility for the
adjacent Rijksmagazijn van Geneesmiddelen
(Royal Medicine Warehouse). From 1989 till
1992 the complex was extensively rebuilt by
architect Koen van Velsen into an 'artist residence' for the Rijksakademie van Beeldende
Kunsten (Royal Academy of Visual Arts),
which recently purchased the building.
te zien lobby | trappenhuis | café | tuin | kapel
te doen expositie | film: 14.00 & 16.00 u meer
info zie onze website toegang vrije inloop
to see lobby | staircase | bar | garden | chapel
to do exhibition | film: 14.00 & 16.00 h more
information see our website admission open
access
te zien werkplaatsen | ateliers | bibliotheek
te doen tentoonstelling p. 74 toegang
doorlopend rondleidingen in groepjes
to see workshops | library to do exhibition
p. 74 admission ongoing guided tours in
groups
56
57
44
Koninklijk Instituut
voor de Tropen
za & zo beperkt toegankelijk | limited access
Mauritskade 63
45
Muiderpoort
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Sarphatistraat 500
www.tropenmuseum.nl
Dit enorme complex in neo-Hollandse renaissancestijl werd tussen 1915 en 1926 gebouwd
als Koloniaal Instituut, een kenniscentrum gericht op de Nederlandse overzeese gewesten. Het architectenbureau Van Nieukerken
ontwierp het gebouw in opdracht van particulieren, bedrijven en overheid. Het bestaat
uit een hoofdgebouw, een museumgebouw
en een lage, gebogen verbindende vleugel.
Achter de hoofdingang aan de Mauritskade
ligt de indrukwekkende, achthoekige Marmeren Hal, waarin twaalf zeldzame Italiaanse
marmersoorten zijn verwerkt. De grote aula
heeft een open kapconstructie, rijkelijk voorzien van beeldhouwwerk. Onlangs moest het
Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen vanwege
bezuinigingen de waardevolle bibliotheek
afstoten. Een deel van het inmiddels grotendeels leegstaande gebouw wordt de komende jaren verhuurd aan het Amsterdam Institute
for Advanced Metropolitan Solutions.
This huge, neo-Dutch Renaissance-style
complex was built between 1915 and 1926
to house the Colonial Institute, a centre
focused on the Netherlands' overseas
colonies. Architects from the Van Nieukerken
firm designed the building on behalf of
private and public investors, who collectively
raised 6 million guilders. The complex consists of a main building, a museum building
and a low, curved connecting wing. Behind
the main entrance to the Mauritskade lies
the impressive octagonal Marble Hall, where
twelve rare varieties of Italian marble were
used. The large auditorium has an open-roof
structure, which is opulently decorated with
sculptures. Due to budget cuts, the Royal
Tropical Institute was recently forced to close
its valuable library. In the coming years, part
of the now mostly vacant building has been
leased to the Amsterdam Institute for Advanced Metropolitan Solutions.
De classicistische Muiderpoort werd in 1771,
twee jaar na het instorten van de zeventiendeeeuwse voorganger, voltooid naar ontwerp
van stadsarchitect Cornelis Rauws. Het fronton aan de landzijde bevat het stadswapen
met de drie Andreaskruisen; dat aan de
stadszijde het stadszegel met het koggeschip. Het beeldhouwwerk is van Anthonie
Ziesenis. De achtzijdige koepelopbouw
van tamboer, koepel en lantaarn bestaat uit
hout. Het indrukwekkende bouwwerk diende hoofdzakelijk als kantoor voor het innen
van tol- en belastinggelden. Het sloot aan
op een brug over de Singelgracht, met aan
de overzijde een voorpoort met smeedijzeren hekken. Vanaf 1903 leidt een nieuwe
brug het verkeer langs de Muiderpoort.
De voorpoort siert sinds 1938 de ingang van
het Flevopark. In 1963 kreeg de Muiderpoort
een moderne kantoorfunctie en werd het
interieur verbouwd.
The classical Muiderpoort Station was completed in 1771, two years after the collapse
of its 17th-century predecessor, from a design
by city architect Cornelis Rauws. The pediment
on one side contains the coat of arms with
the three Andreas crosses, and on the cityfacing side, it shows the city seal with the
cargo ship. These sculptures were designed
by Anthonie Ziesenis. The octagonal tholobate, dome and cupola are made of wood.
The impressive construction was used primarily as the office for toll and tax collection.
It was connected to a bridge across the
Singelgracht on one side, and a gateway
with wrought-iron gates on the other side.
In 1903, a new bridge was opened which
leads traffic along Muiderpoort. Since 1938,
the front gate has marked the entrance to
Flevopark. In 1963, Muiderpoort became a
modern office building and the interior was
completely renovated.
te zien marmeren hal | grote zaal | bestuurskamers toegang reserveren verplicht p. 11
to see marble hall | main hall | boardrooms
admission reservation required p. 11
te zien directeurskamer | bestuurskamer
toegang doorlopend rondleidingen in
groepjes
to see director's room | boardroom
admission ongoing guided tours in groups
58
59
46
Huis Caramelli
zo 10.00-17.00 u
Plantage Middenlaan 62
47
www.freedomlab.org
Artisplein
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Plantage Kerklaan 38-40
www.artis.nl
Deze stadsvilla in eclectische stijl, in 1866
ontworpen door de Utrechtse architect
S.A. Van Lunteren voor de kunsthandelaar
A.G.M. Caramelli, bezit nog de originele,
fraai gedecoreerde achterzaal op de beletage. In 1872 richtte Caramelli, samen
met de uitgever K.H. Schadd, de Amsterdamsche Omnibus Maatschappij (AOM) op.
Schadd liet een paar jaar later door G.B.
Salm het buurpand Plantage Middenlaan
60 bouwen. Achter de beide stadsvilla's
realiseerde Salm een houten paardenstal
en wagenloods voor de AOM, in 2005 zwaar
beschadigd door brand. Iets later voegde
hij een stenen remisegebouw toe. Nadat
de gemeente de AOM in 1901 in bezit kreeg
werden de hallen verbouwd tot werkplaatsen.
Stadsbeeldhouwer Hildo Krop gebruikte
van 1920 tot 1970 een deel ervan als atelier.
Nog altijd werken hier beeldhouwers.
This eclectic townhouse was designed in 1866
by the Utrecht architect S.A. Van Lunteren,
for the art dealer A.G.M. Caramelli. The
original, beautifully decorated rear hall on
the main floor has been preserved. In 1872,
Caramelli founded the Amsterdamsche
Omnibus Maatschappij (Amsterdam Omnibus
Society, or AOM) with publisher K.H. Schadd.
A few years later, Schadd hired G. B. Salm to
build the neighbouring property, Plantage
Middenlaan 60. Behind both townhouses,
Salm erected a wooden stable and carriage
shed for the AOM, which were heavily
damaged by fire in 2005. Later, he added
a stone depot. In 1901, when the ownership
of the AOM was transferred to the city of
Amsterdam, the halls were converted into
workshops. From 1920 to 1970, sculptor
Hildo Krop used part of the workshops as his
studio. To this day, it is still used by sculptors.
De toegang tot het onlangs geopende
Artisplein aan de Plantage Middenlaan
wordt geflankeerd door de monumentale
gebouwen van de Ledenlokalen 48 links en
het Groote Museum rechts. Deze doorgang
is ontstaan door de sloop van een tussenpand
uit de jaren '50. Het rechthoekige, met bomen
beplante plein wordt aan de Noordzijde
begrensd door een fontein, de Watertafel,
die evenwijdig loopt aan een volière. Deze
bevat een polderlandschap met Hollandse
weidevogels, een verwijzing naar het landschap waarbinnen Amsterdam ooit ontstond.
Het plein biedt uitzicht op de negentiendeeeuwse flamingovijver, waarvan de oorspronkelijke contouren zijn hersteld, en
verbindt aldus stad en park. Aan het plein,
is café-restaurant de Plantage gevestigd.
Ook het Groote Museum wordt op termijn
weer opengesteld voor het publiek.
The entrance to the recently opened
Artisplein on Plantage Middenlaan is
flanked by the historical Ledenlokalen
(Society) buildings 48 on the left, and by
the Groote (Large) Museum on the right.
This passage was created by the demolition
of a building from the '50s. The rectangular,
tree-lined square is bordered on the north
side by a fountain, the Watertafel (water
table), which runs parallel to an aviary.
This comprises a Dutch polder landscape
with wetland birds, a reference to the
landscape in which Amsterdam originated.
The square has views of the 19th-century
flamingo pond, the original contours of
which have been restored, and thus connects
the city and park. De Plantage restaurant
and bar is located on the square. The
Groote Museum will soon also be
open to the public.
te zien gehele pand | binnenplaats toegang
doorlopend rondleidingen in groepjes
to see entire building | courtyard admission
ongoing guided tours in groups
te zien plein toegang vrije inloop
to see square admission open access
60
61
48
Ledenlokalen
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Plantage Kerklaan 38-40
49
www.artis.nl
Waldorf Astoria
Amsterdam
za & zo beperkt toegankelijk | limited access
Herengracht 548
www.waldorfastoria.com
In 1868 ontwierp G.B. Salm voor het genootschap Natura Artis Magistra, op de hoek van
de Plantage Kerklaan en de Plantage Middenlaan, een hoofdgebouw. Het noordelijke
paviljoen huisvestte tot 2008 de directie en
administratie van Artis. Het middendeel
verloor bij de dramatische aanslag op het
bevolkingsregister in 1943 de bovenverdieping. De serre aan de tuinzijde was bestemd
voor concerten, tentoonstellingen en feesten
van het genootschap. Het zuidelijke paviljoen
bevatte de Groote Restauratiezaal, het restaurant. Het complex is onlangs gerestaureerd en gerenoveerd op basis van vele
vondsten die aantonen hoe gedetailleerd
in plattegrond, opstand, interieurs, materiaalgebruik en decoraties dit gebouw was
ontworpen. In de vernieuwde Ledenlokalen
zijn nu een stadsbrasserie, een televisiestudio en microZoo,'s werelds eerste dierentuin van micro-organismen, gevestigd.
In 1868, G.B. Salm designed a main building
for the Natura Artis Magistra society at the
corner of Plantage Kerklaan and Plantage
Middenlaan. The board and administration
department of Artis (the zoo) operated until
2008 in the nothern pavilion, which still has
its original staircase. The top floor in the
middle of the building was lost due to a
dramatic attack by resistance fighters on the
census office in 1943. The veranda was built
for the society's concerts, exhibitions and
parties. The restaurant (Groote Restauratiezaal) was located in the southern pavilion.
The complex was recently renovated and
restored based on descriptions of how detailed it was in construction and decoration.
The building now houses a bar, a television
recording studio and microZoo, the world's
first zoo for microorganisms.
In mei opende in zes van oorsprong zeventiende-eeuwse dubbelpanden aan de
Herengracht Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.
Herengracht 548, waar de hoofdingang is,
dateert van 1665. Bij een ingrijpende verbouwing begin achttiende eeuw, mogelijk
door Daniel Marot, ontstonden de statige
vestibule op de bel-etage en het zeer monumentale trappenhuis met koepel, beide rijkelijk voorzien van stucdecoraties. De twee
voorkamers naast de entree bevatten interieurs uit diverse tijdvakken van de negentiende eeuw. Herengracht 550 heeft nog een
schitterende rococozaal met arcadische
landschapsschilderingen van Jacob Maurer
uit 1768. In Herengracht 556 bleef onder
meer een fraaie marmeren gang bewaard en
in Herengracht 546 is een voormalige bankkluis in het souterrain omgetoverd tot bar.
In de tuin staat het restant van een tuinhuis
met koepel uit omstreeks 1750.
In May this year, Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
opened its doors on the Herengracht canal.
It is situated in six 17th-century mansions.
The main entrance, at Herengracht 548,
dates from 1665. During a major renovation
in the early eighteenth century, possibly by
Daniel Marot, the stately hall on the ground
floor, as well as the monumental staircase
with a dome (both richly decorated with
stuccos) were constructed. The two front
rooms next to the entrance include interiors
from various periods of the nineteenth century. Herengracht 550 still has a beautiful
Rococo hall with Arcadian landscape paintings by Jacob Maurer from 1768. At Herengracht 556, a beautiful marble corridor has
been preserved, while a former bank vault
in the basement has been transformed into
a bar at Herengracht 546. The remnants of a
garden house with cupola, built around
1750, can be found in the garden.
te zien gehele pand toegang doorlopend
rondleidingen in groepjes
to see entire building admission ongoing
guided tours in groups
te zien receptie | zalen | trappenhuis | tuin
kluis toegang reserveren verplicht p. 11
to see reception | halls | staircase | garden
safe admission reservation required p. 11
62
63
50
Ambtswoning
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Herengracht 502
51
www.amsterdam.nl
Huis Hammerstein
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-17.00 u
Herengracht 480
www.hammerstein.com
Het huis werd in 1672 gebouwd, mogelijk
naar ontwerp van Adriaan Dortsman. Omstreeks 1791 moderniseerde Abraham van
der Hart de voorgevel en de interieurs ingrijpend. De prachtige stucreliëfs in de burgemeesterskamer en de vier schouwen op de
bel-etage zijn nog uit deze tijd. Rond 1872
liet de reislustige familie Van Loon de eetzaal en de balzaal naar de laatste Franse
mode herinrichten. De tapisserieën van de
eetzaal zijn vrijwel zeker van de beroemde
Parijse firma Bracquenié. De voorstellingen
met fruit, bloemen, vissen, jachtattributen en
-trofeeën verwijzen naar de functie van het
vertrek. Het ameublement is speciaal vervaardigd door Mercier Frères in Parijs. In de
balzaal zijn de negentiende-eeuwse kroon,
spiegels en het meubilair bewaard gebleven.
Sinds 1927 is dit de ambtswoning van de
burgemeester van Amsterdam.
The house was built in 1672, and possibly
designed by Adriaen Dortsman. Around
1791, Abraham van der Hart dramatically
modernised the façade and interior. The
beautiful stucco reliefs in the mayor's room
and the four fireplaces on the ground floor
date back to this period. Around 1872, the
Van Loon family refurbished both the dining room and the ballroom in the latest
French fashion. The tapestries in the dining area are almost certainly from the famous Parisian firm Braquenié. The scenes
of fruit, flowers, fish, hunting and hunting
trophies evoke the function of the room.
The suite's furniture was tailor made by
Mercier Frères in Paris. In the ballroom, the
19th-century crown, mirrors and furniture
have been preserved. Since 1927, this has
been the official residence of the mayor of
Amsterdam.
Oorspronkelijk telde dit dubbele woonhuis uit
1670 vijf vensterassen en werd de middentravee bekroond door een fronton. In de
achttiende eeuw kreeg de gevel zijn huidige
uiterlijk met decoratieve deur- en vensteromlijstingen, afsluitend hoofdgestel en attiek.
Ook verscheen een imposante dubbele
bordesstoep met gezwenkte harpstukken.
Binnen bleven vier stijlkamers met elementen
uit diverse stijlperioden bewaard. De marmeren gang uit ongeveer 1735 heeft rijk
gedecoreerd stuc- en beeldhouwwerk. De
rechter voorkamer bevat plafondschilderingen uit het eind van de zeventiende eeuw,
toegeschreven aan Gerard de Lairesse. De
Blauwe Zaal dateert uit de late achttiende
eeuw, maar bevat tevens onderdelen uit de
jaren '60 van de negentiende eeuw. Sinds
1942 is het huis in gebruik als kantoorpand.
In de brede tuin achter het huis bevindt zich
een bunkergang.
This large, double house dates from 1670
and was originally five windows wide. The
middle section featured a pediment. In the
18th century, the façade was rebuilt into its
current state, including a decorative door
and window frames, a final entablature and
an attic. Shortly thereafter, an impressive
double stoop with harp shaped pieces was
added. The canal house has four rooms
with elements from various style periods.
The marble hallway from 1735 features
richly decorated stucco and sculpture. In
the drawing room on the right side, you
can see ceiling paintings from the end of
the 17th century, which are attributed to
Gerard de Lairesse. The blue hall dates
from the late 18th century but contains
parts dating from the 1860s. Since 1942,
the house has been in use as an office
building. In the spacious garden behind
it, you can see a bunker corridor.
te zien eetzaal | balzaal | damessalon
toegang doorlopend rondleidingen in
groepjes
to see dining room | ballroom | ladies drawing
room admission ongoing guided tours in
groups
te zien bel-etage | stijlkamers | tuin | bar
souterrain toegang doorlopend rondleidingen in groepjes
to see first floor | style rooms | garden | bar
basement admission ongoing guided tours
in groups
64
65
52
Koetshuis Van Loon
zo 10.00-17.00 u
Kerkstraat 259
53
www.museumvanloon.nl
De Bazel
za 09.00-17.00 | 18.00-23.00 u | zo 09.00-17.00 u
Vijzelstraat 32
www.stadsarchief.amsterdam.nl
Het koetshuis werd in 1672 gebouwd door
Adriaen Dortsman, die ook het hoofdhuis
ontwierp. Het was tegelijk tuinhuis, stal
en dienstwoning. In 1775 werd het gemoderniseerd, waarbij Dortsmans classicistische tuingevel met zandsteen werd bekleed.
De nissen naast de deur kregen beelden
van Flora en Silenus. Omwille van de privacy
van de hoofdbewoners aan de gracht had
de dienstwoning op de verdieping aan
deze zijde geen vensters; wat men ziet zijn
schijnvensters met op glas geschilderde
gordijntjes. In 2009 kwam het koetshuis in
het bezit van Museum Van Loon, waarmee
de historische eenheid met de tuin en het
huis werd hersteld. De stal en het rijtuigcarré
op de begane grond zijn gerestaureerd en
dienen als expositieruimte. Het appartement
boven fungeert als werkruimte voor 'artists
in residence'.
The coach house was built in 1672 by
Adriaen Dortsman, who also designed
the main house. It served as a shed, stable
and staff residence, and was modernized
in 1775, when the classical garden wall by
Dortsman was coated with sandstone. The
alcoves next to the door have statues of
Flora and Silenus. To protect the privacy
of the main residents on the canal side,
there were no windows on this side of
the staff residence, only false windows
with curtains painted on glass. In 2009,
the coach house became the property
of the Van Loon Museum, restoring the
historical unity of the garden and the
house. The stable and the carriage square
on the ground floor have been restored
and serve as an exhibition space. The
apartment above is a workspace for
'artists in residence'.
Het imposante bankgebouw van de Nederlandsche Handel-Maatschappij werd in
1926 voltooid. Architect K.P.C. de Bazel
werkte hier nauw samen met A.D.N. van
Gendt, die het geavanceerde betonskelet
ontwierp. De deftige directiegang op de
tweede verdieping en het indrukwekkende
centrale trappenhuis geven een goed beeld
van de statige sfeer die de Nederlandsche
Handel-Maatschappij omgaf. Verrassend is
de achttiende-eeuwse Italiaanse zaal, die
vrijwel integraal is meegenomen uit het
oude hoofdkantoor van de Maatschappij,
een patriciërshuis elders aan de Herengracht.
Sinds 2007 zijn in het gebouw Stadsarchief
Amsterdam en Bureau Monumenten &
Archeologie gevestigd. In de voormalige
safedeposit in de kelder worden permanent
historische topstukken tentoongesteld
die de geschiedenis van Amsterdam
illustreren.
The imposing bank building of the Netherlands Trading Society was completed in 1926.
Architect K.P.C. de Bazel worked closely with
A.D.N. van Gendt, who designed the advanced concrete frame. The majestic hallway
for the board on the second floor, along with
the impressive central staircase, give an impression of the stately atmosphere that surrounded the Netherlands Trading Society. The
eighteenth-century Italian hall is a surprise,
and was copied almost entirely from the old
headquarters of the Netherlands Trading
Society in a patrician house also on the
Herengracht. The wallpaper murals of idealised Italian landscapes by Jan Degelenkamp
date from 1772. Since 2007, the Amsterdam
City Archives and Office for Monuments &
Archaeology have been based in the building.
In the former safe in the basement, there's a
permanent exhibition of historical masterpieces illustrating the history of Amsterdam.
te zien koetshuis | stal | rijtuigen | tuigen
livreien toegang vrije inloop let op! Museum
Van Loon is niet gratis toegankelijk
to see coach house | stable | carriages
gear | liveries admission open access
attention! the Museum Van Loon is not
freely accessible
te zien hal | schatkamer te doen juniorprogramma p. 86 | jongerengidsen p. 85 | expositie | rondleidingen | ontbijt & lunch | avondprogramma p. 82 toegang vrije inloop
to see hall | treasure house to do junior
program p. 86 | junior guides p. 85 | exhibition | guided tours | breakfast & lunch | evening program p. 82 admission open access
66
67
fietstocht bike tour (in Dutch)
Fiets samen met BAC en ARCAM langs de
architectonische pareltjes van het Oostelijk
Havengebied, zoals de rode bruggen van
West8, de Scheepstimmermanstraat met
z'n vrije kavel, wooncomplex 'The Whale'
en enkele getransformeerde pakhuizen. In
de jaren '90 werd dit gebied, oorspronkelijk
bedoeld voor haven- en overslagfuncties,
getransformeerd tot woongebied.
activiteiten
activities
Eastern
Docklands
za 11.00 | 13.00 | 15.00 u | 90 min
Start: ARCAM | Prins Hendrikkade 600
reserveren verplicht reservation required p. 11
Cycle along the Eastern Docklands with
BAC and ARCAM and discover architectural
gems such as the red bridges of West8, the
Scheepstimmermanstraat (where residents
were free to select their own architect) the
residential building 'The Whale' and some
transformed warehouses. This area, which
used to be a port, was transformed into a
residential area in the 1990s.
fietstocht bike tour (in Dutch)
Fiets met een gids langs de historische
waterwegen van Amsterdam Noord. De
route gaat langs bekende en minder bekende, fotogenieke plekken vol verhalen over
scheepvaart en reizen. Fiets over de wegen
die al zo lang bereden worden en hoor meer
over de wereld om ons heen, zoals schippers
en andere reizigers die vroeger zagen.
68
Oostelijk
Havengebied
Cycle along the historic waterways of
Amsterdam North on a guided tour past
picture-perfect locations, both well-known
and undiscovered, that are full of stories
about shipping and travel. Discover the
roads that have been used since the olden
days and learn more about the world around
us, through the eyes of the skippers and
other travellers of the past.
Langs tolhuizen
en sluizen
Along tollhouses
and locks
za & zo 11.00 | 13.30 | 16.00 u | 90 min
Start: NDSM-Werfveer | Mt. Ondinaweg
reserveren verplicht reservation required p. 11
69
fietstocht bike tour (in Dutch)
Het koninkrijk was verantwoordelijk voor
veel infrastructurele hoogstandjes. De
behoefte aan reizen via water, weg en
spoor heeft tot verschillende ontwikkelingen
geleid welke in de huidige tijd nog steeds
zichtbaar zijn in de stad. Heemschut neemt
u mee met een fietsexcursie langs tweehonderd jaar reizen met de Oranjes.
Over
koninklijke wegen
On royal
roads
za & zo 10.00 & 14.30 u | 90 min
Start: Haarlemmerpoort
reserveren verplicht reservation required p. 11
Since 1815, the Kingdom of the
Netherlands was responsible for many
smart infrastructural solutions. The need
to travel by water, road and rail led to
several developments, which can still be
seen throughout the city. Heritage organisation Heemschut takes you on a cycling
tour past twohundred years of travelling
with the royal family.
lezing & wandeling lecture & walk (in Dutch)
Aan het einde van de negentiende eeuw
verrees het Centraal Station midden in de
haven van Amsterdam. Ter versiering van de
viaducten naast het station werden tweeëntwintig leeuwenbeelden geplaatst. Wandel
langs de nu verdwenen leeuwen en maak kennis met de ontwikkeling van de spoorwegen
en de scheepvaart rond het Centraal Station.
70
At the end of the nineteenth century,
Amsterdam's Central Station was built on
an island, right in the centre of the city's
harbour. The bridges next to the station
were adorned with twentytwo statues of
lions. Stroll along where the now vanished
lions once stood and get acquainted with
the development of railways and shipping
around Central Station.
wandeling walk (in Dutch)
De Sarphatistraat en het Frederiksplein
hebben hun ontstaan te danken aan de
bekende arts, filantroop en stedenbouwkundige Samuel Sarphati (1813-1866).
Wandel met het Cuypersgenootschap
langs diverse bouwwerken die een indruk
geven van de architectonische en stedenbouwkundige ontwikkelingen tussen
Rhijnspoorplein en Frederiksplein.
In het spoor
van Sarphati
In the wake
of Sarphati
za & zo 12.00 | 14.00 u | 60 min | vol=vol
Start: Sarphatistraat 54
Sarphatistraat and Frederiksplein owe
their existence entirely to the well-known
physician, philanthropist and urban planner
Samuel Sarphati (1813-1866). Walk with the
Cuypers Society along several buildings
which give an impression of the architectural
and urban developments between
Rhijnspoorplein and Frederiksplein.
Leeuwen van CS
Central Station's lions
lezing lecture
za & zo lezing 10.30 | 13.00 | 15.30 u | 30 min
Havengebouw 13 De Ruijterkade 7
wandeling walk
za & zo 11.00 | 13.30 | 16.00 u | 60 min
reserveren verplicht reservation required p.
11Start: Havengebouw 13 De Ruijterkade 7
wandeling walk (in Dutch)
De Amsterdamse woningcorporaties nemen
u mee terug in de tijd, naar het VOC- en
Werkspoor-verleden op de Oostelijke
Eilanden. Ontdek de nog zichtbare sporen
van de lijnbanen en de werven en zie
hoe het gebied zich na de komst van
de Werkspoor-fabriek heeft ontwikkeld
tot een levendig woon- en werkgebied.
In this visit to the Eastern Islands, the
Amsterdam housing associations will take
you back in time to the days of the Dutch
East India Company and the Werkspoor
machine factory. Traces of the ropewalks
and shipyards are still visible, and you can
discover how this area, after the arrival of
the Werkspoor factory, developed into
a lively residential and commercial area.
Oostelijke
Eilanden
Eastern
Islands
za & zo 12.00 | 14.00 | 16.00 u | 90 min | vol=vol
Start: Kattenburgerplein
71
wandeling walk (in Dutch)
De Delfts blauwe KLM-huisjes zijn
wereldwijd een icoon van Nederland.
Het zijn replica's van bestaande monumenten,
en 45 daarvan staan in Amsterdam. Mark
Zegeling, auteur van 'Sterke verhalen voor
bij de borrel', onthult samen met een gids
van Mee in Mokum de geheimen achter
de gevels.
Delfts blauw
Amsterdam
Delftware
Amsterdam
za 10.00 | 13.30 | 16.00 u | 60 min
zo 11.00 | 14.00 | 16.00 u | 60 min
Start: Gravenstraat 18
reserveren verplicht reservation required p. 11
Over the whole world, KLM's miniature
Delftware houses are an icon of the
Netherlands. They are replicas of existing
monuments and 45 of them are located
in Amsterdam. Mark Zegeling, author of
'Sterke Verhalen voor bij de borrel' (Stories
That Go With a Drink) and a guide of Mee
in Mokum (an insiders look into Amsterdam),
reveals the secrets behind the façades.
lezing lecture (in Dutch)
Het VOC-schip 'Amsterdam', gebouwd op
de VOC-werf op Oostenburg, strandde in
1749 tijdens zijn eerste reis naar Azië op de
Engelse kust bij Hastings. Jerzy Gawronski
en Ranjith Jayasena, archeologen bij BMA,
houden een spannend verhaal over de
verkenningen van de intacte romp, gevuld
met tienduizenden voorwerpen.
72
In 1749, the Dutch East India Company's
ship 'Amsterdam', built at the VOC yard
Oostenburg, stranded on the English coast
at Hastings during her first voyage to Asia.
Jerzy Gawronski and Ranjith Jayasena,
archaeologists at BMA, gives an exciting
account of the discovery of the intact hull,
which is filled with tens of thousands of
items.
lezing lecture (in Dutch)
Tijdens de lezingen van schrijver Ko van
Geemert over zijn twee boeken 'Dushi
Willemstad' en 'Paramaribo Brasa!', maakt
u een verrassende culturele en literaire wandeling door de historische binnensteden
Willemstad (Curaçao) en Paramaribo
(Suriname). Aan de hand van citaten van
talloze auteurs, waant u zich op reis door
beide UNESCO werelderfgoederen.
Dushi Willemstad,
Paramaribo Brasa!
Dushi Willemstad,
Paramaribo Brasa!
zo 14.00 | 15.00 u | 45 min
De Bazel 53 Vijzelstraat 32
Werelderfgoed Podium
During the lectures of writer Ko van Geemert
about his two books, 'Dushi Willemstad'
en 'Paramaribo Brasa!', you will experience
the old towns of Willemstad (Curaçao) and
Paramaribo (Suriname). Based on quotes
from several authors, it will seem like you
are travelling through these UNESCO World
Heritage sites.
VOC-schip
'Amsterdam'
'Amsterdam'
a Dutch East India
Company ship
za & zo 15.00 u | 60 min
Werkspoormuseum | Oostenburgergracht 77
reserveren verplicht reservation required p. 11
lezing lecture (in Dutch)
Aan het einde van de zeventiende eeuw
reisde de 25-jarige Toscaanse prins Cosimo
de' Medici incognito, maar met een flinke
hofhouding, door de jonge republiek Nederland. Schrijver Lodewijk Wagenaar, van het
boek 'Een Toscaanse Prins bezoekt Nederland', vertelt over de ontmoeting van één van
de rijkste mannen van Europa met Nederland.
At the end of the seventeenth century, the
25-year-old prince of Tuscany, Cosimo de'
Medici, travelled with his royal household
through the young republic of The Netherlands. Lodewijk Wagenaar, who wrote Een
Toscaanse Prins bezoekt Nederland (A
Tuscan Prince Visits the Netherlands), tells
about the encounter of one of the richest
men of Europe with the Netherlands.
Toscaanse prins
in Nederland
Tuscan Prince
in the Netherlands
zo 15.00 u | 45 min
De Bazel 53 Vijzelstraat 32 | Bodeplein
73
lezing lecture (in Dutch)
Puissant rijk en soms gevaarlijk avontuurlijk.
De Nederlandse fotografe Alexandrine Tinne
trok in de tweede helft van de negentiende
eeuw als eerste vrouwelijke ontdekkingsreiziger door Centraal-Afrika. Op zaterdag vertelt
sociaal geograaf Alida Beekhuis haar verhaal.
Architectuurhistoricus Walther Schoonenberg
geeft zondag een lezing over de cruciale rol
van Huis De Pinto bij de redding van de
Nieuwmarktbuurt.
Pinto
lezingen
Pinto
lectures
za & zo 14.30 u | 45 min | vol=vol
Huis de Pinto 23 Sint Antoniesbreestraat 69
Reizen, zowel letterlijk als figuurlijk, blijkt een
belangrijke inspiratiebron voor kunstenaars
door de eeuwen heen. In deze door de
Rijksakademie samengestelde expositie
staat daarom 'De reizende kunstenaar'
centraal. Boeken over verre landen, die
gebruikt werden in tijden dat reizen nog
niet voor iedereen was weggelegd,
wisselen elkaar af met prenten en foto's.
74
Travel (even if it's just in your imagination) has
been an important source of inspiration for artists throughout the centuries. In this exhibition,
organised by the National Academy of Visual
Arts, the focus is on the 'travelling artist'.
Books about faraway countries, which were
used in times when only the happy few travelled, are supplemented by prints and photos.
De conducteur die aan een koord trekt,
een bel klinkt, een koetsier′draait aan
mysterieuze slingers en het gevaarte
komt in beweging. Rond 1900 het
toppunt van vernuft; een rijtuig zonder
paard, rijdend op elektriciteit. Beleef het
gevoel van toen en stap op de historische
trammen van het Haarlemmermeerstation
richting het centrum of Amstelveen.
Terug in
de tijd
Tram ride
back in time
za & zo 10.00-17.00 u
Haarlemmermeerstation 1
Amstelveenseweg 264
enkele ritten tegen betaling: meer info zie
onze website | some rides with fee: more
info see our website
The conductor pulls a cord, a bell sounds,
a 'coachman' turns mysterious levers and
the colossus starts moving. Around 1900,
this was the pinnacle of ingenuity: a
horseless carriage, powered by electricity.
Experience the feeling of the past and get
on the historical tram which goes from
the Haarlemmermeer Station towards
the center of Amstelveen.
Alexandrine Tinne was the first female explorer who travelled through central Africa in
the second half of the nineteenth century. On
Saturday, social geographer Alida Beekhuis
will tell her story. Architectural historian
Walther Schoonenberg will give a lecture
on Sunday about the crucial role of House
De Pinto in saving the Nieuwmarkt area.
expositie exhibition
tramrit tram ride
De reizende
kunstenaar
The travelling artist
za & zo 10.00-17.00 u
Rijksakademie van beeldende kunst 43
Sarphatistraat 470
debat & wandeling debate & walk (in Dutch)
De A10 loopt vanaf Diemen in een
cirkel rond de hoofdstad. Ontdek de
historische en architectonische betekenis
van de ringweg en ga in debat over het
idee om de A10 tot monument te maken.
Vanaf de Bos en Lommerweg 114 start
om 14.00 uur een wandeling langs de
A10 naar het Bruggebouw.
The A10 is a circular motorway that
starts at Diemen and goes around
the capital. Discover the historical and
architectural significance of the ring road
and discuss the idea of making the A10
a national monument. At 14:00, there will
be a guided walk starting from 114 Bos
en Lommerweg going along the A10
to the Bruggebouw.
De A10,
een rijksmonument?
The A10,
a national monument?
za 15.00 u | 90 min
Van Eesterenmuseum
Burgemeester De Vlugtlaan 125
75
busrit bus ride
Stap op de futuristische waterstofbussen
van het GVB en volg de historische route
naar de plek waar ooit de eerste spoorlijn
van Nederland begon: de Westergasfabriek. De Groene Grachten toont in
een foto-expositie de innovaties van
het verleden en legt de verbinding
met het heden tijdens de Amsterdam
Solar Boat Parade.
Een groene reis
A green trip
za & zo 10.00-17.00 u | doorlopend
Start: CS Prins Hendrikplantsoen
Eind: Westergasterrein
meer info zie onze website
more info see our website
Get on a futuristic hydrogen-powered
water bus (owned by GVB, the public
transit authority) and follow the historic
route to the place where the first railway
line in the Netherlands began: Westergasfabriek. Visit De Groene Grachten for a
photo exhibition of past innovations. They
also establish a link with the present with
photos of the Amsterdam Solar Boat
Parade.
busrit bus ride
Heeft u altijd al willen weten hoe Schiphol,
de grootste luchthaven van Nederland,
werkt? Beleef Schiphol van heel dichtbij
met de Schiphol Behind the Scenes tour.
Per luxe touringcar komt u op unieke,
beveiligde plekken, zoals onder andere
de brandweer, de sneeuwvloot, grote
hangars en het platform op Schiphol Oost.
76
Have you always wanted to know how
Schiphol Airport – the largest airport in the
Netherlands – works? Experience Schiphol
up close with the Schiphol Behind the Scenes
tour. You'll take a luxury coach to remote,
secure areas, which include the fire department, the snow clearance fleet, large hangars
and the platform at Schiphol East.
boottocht boat tour
Al sinds de dertiende eeuw wordt er in de
Amsterdamse haven geladen en gelost. In de
Gouden Eeuw was Amsterdam zelfs de belangrijkste haven ter wereld. Naast bier, graan
en hout worden er vandaag de dag nog tal
van andere producten geïmporteerd en geëxporteerd. Ontdek de bedrijvigheid van de huidige Amsterdamse haven met een rondvaart,
georganiseerd door Havenbedrijf Amsterdam.
Havenrondvaart
Harbourtour
zo 14.00 u | 120 min
reserveren verplicht reservation required p. 11
Ever since the thirteenth century, loading
and unloading has been continuous in the
port of Amsterdam. During the Golden Age,
Amsterdam was considered the most important port in the world. Today, besides beer,
grain and wood, numerous other products
are imported and exported. Discover the
activities of the current port of Amsterdam
with a harbour cruise organised by the
Amsterdam Port Authority.
Schiphol Behind
the Scenes
Schiphol Behind
the Scenes
za & zo 11.00 | 12.30 | 14.30 | 16.00 u | 60 min
reserveren verplicht reservation required p. 11
let op! geldig identificatiebewijs verplicht
attention! valid identification required
Plan routes, upload foto's en
blijf op de hoogte met onze
Open Monumentendag
Amsterdam app of kijk op
onze website
Plan routes, upload
photos and stay informed
with our Amsterdam
Heritage Days app or
visit our website
77
boekpresentatie book launch (in Dutch)
Diep in de bodem van Amsterdam
wordt gewerkt aan de aanleg van de
Noord/Zuidlijn. Bureau Monumenten
& Archeologie heeft de huizen langs
de Noord/Zuidlijn geïnvetariseerd en
publiceerde de resultaten in het boek
'In het voorbijgaan. Zeven eeuwen bouwen
langs de Noord/Zuidlijn'. Kom naar de
boekpresentatie en ontdek daarna middels
een rondleiding één van de bouwlocaties.
avondprogramma
evening program
700 years along the
North/South line
za 19.00 u | 60 min
Stationsplein 7
reserveren verplicht reservation required p. 11
Deeply underground, the new North/
South line is taking shape. The Office of
Monuments and Archaeology made an
inventory of the houses along the North/
South line and published the results in the
book 'In het voorbijgaan: Zeven eeuwen
bouwen langs de Noord/Zuidlijn' (In passing:
Seven centuries of construction along the
North/South line). Come to the book
presentation and take a tour of discovery
through one of the construction sites.
tramrit tram ride
Stap op de tram en rij tijdens het vallen
van de avond mee met een historische tram.
Maak vanaf het Haarlemmermeerstation een
bijzondere tour door de stad. De tram vervoert u via de Overtoom naar het Centraal
Station en weer terug via de Raadhuisstraat.
Muzikanten zorgen voor een feestelijk tintje
tijdens deze verrassende rit.
78
700 jaar langs
de Noord/Zuidlijn
Get on a historic tram and ride along
while the night falls. From Haarlemmermeer
Station, there will be a special tour through
the city. The tram carries you through the
Overtoom to the Central Station and back
via the Raadhuisstraat. Musicians will give
this surprising ride a festive touch.
Avondtramrit
Evening tram ride
za 20.00 | 21.30 u | 90 min
Haarlemmermeerstation 1
Amstelveenseweg 264
79
muziek & expositie music & expo
Roest biedt een podium aan nieuwe
talenten en gearriveerde kunstenaars.
Ontdek de karakteristieke sfeer in het
Koud Gas Gebouw en de Van Gendthallen.
Dans tot diep in de nacht, bewonder de
muurschilderingen over het VOC- en
Werkspoor-verleden en ga in gesprek
met de graffitikunstenaars.
Roest in de nacht
Roest by night
za 22.00 u | 300 min
Koud Gas Gebouw 31 Van Gendthallen 30
Jacob Bontiusplaats 1
meer info zie onze website
more info see our website
Roest offers a platform for new talents
and artists arrived. Discover the distinctive
atmosphere of the Koud Gas Gebouw and
the Van Gendthallen. Dance late into the
night, admire the murals on the VOC and
Werkspoor past and talk to the graffiti
artists.
dans dance
In Museum Werf 't Kromhout vertalen
choreografe Rianne Slenema en haar
gevolg op gracieuze wijze het stuk Das
Wohltemperierte Klavier van de Duitse
componist Johann Sebastian Bach naar
een bijzondere dansvoorstelling. Na afloop
mogen de voetjes van de vloer. Een dj
smeedt op swingende wijze andere klassieke
stukken op zijn draaitafel aan elkaar.
80
In Museum Werf 't Kromhout, choreographer
Rianne Slenema and her entourage will
gracefully interpret 'Das Wohltemperierte
Klavier' (the well-tempered piano) by German composer Johann Sebastian Bach as
a special dance performance. Later you will
have the chance to do your own dance. On
his turntable, a DJ will forge together some
other classical pieces.
lezing lecture (in Dutch)
Overdag open als museum, in de avonduren
een plek om te picknicken en naar een lezing
te luisteren. Strijk tussen de motoren van
Museum Werf 't Kromhout neer om een zelf
meegebrachte boterham, salade of fles wijn
(geen barbecue) te nuttigen. Om 19.00 uur
kunt u luisteren naar een lezing door architectuurhistoricus Paul Morel, die vertelt over
de werkzaamheden van Stadsherstel Amsterdam in Zanzibar, Casablanca en Paramaribo.
Wine & Dine met lezing
Wine & Dine with lecture
za 18.00-23.00 u | lezing lecture 19.00 u
Werf 't Kromhout 29 Kruitshuisstraat 25
During the day, it's open as a museum, but at
night, it's a place to have a picnic and attend
a lecture. Bring some food and drinks (bbq
not allowed) and settle down between the
engines of Museum Werf 't Kromhout. At
19.00 h, you can listen to a lecture by architectural historian Paul Morel. He will tell
about the operations of Stadsherstel Amsterdam in Zanzibar, Casablanca and Paramaribo.
Bach & Beats
Bach & Beats
za 20.30-23.00 u
Werf 't Kromhout 29 Kruitshuisstraat 25
lezing lecture (in Dutch)
Vanaf de Oostelijke Handelskade in
Amsterdam vertrokken in de negentiende
en twintigste eeuw duizenden Europeanen
richting Zuid-Amerika om een nieuw
bestaan op te bouwen. Dr. Mari Smits,
onderzoeker bij het Huygens Instituut
voor Nederlandse Geschiedenis, vertelt
over deze landverhuizers op een
toepasselijke locatie. Georganiseerd
door Genootschap Amstelodamum.
In the nineteenth and twentieth centuries,
thousands of Europeans departed from
the Eastern Docklands to go to South
America and start over again. Dr. Mari
Smits, researcher at Huygens Institute of
Dutch History, tells about these emigrants
in a location to match; organised by
Society Amstelodamum.
Op reis…
Travelling
za 19.00 u | 60 min
Koffiehuis Hollandsche Lloyd 34
Oostelijkehandelskade 44
81
avondprogramma evening program
Wanneer de duisternis over de kolos aan de
Vijzelstraat valt, gaat Open Monumentendag
Amsterdam los in De Bazel. Er zijn uiteenlopende activiteiten, zoals lezingen, muziekworkshops, rondleidingen, muzikale
optredens en een diner.
When darkness falls over the colossus on
Vijzelstraat, Amsterdam Heritage Days will
come to life in De Bazel. There will be a variety
of activities, such as lectures, music workshops,
tours, musical performances and a dinner.
Yoga in De Bazel | sport
za 17.00 u | 60 min
Esoterie en De Bazel | rondleiding
za 18.00 u | 60 min
Couperus culinair | lezing & diner
za 18.00 u | 30 min
inschrijving in De Bazel
UNESCO-boot | boottocht
za 19.30 u | 60 min | reserveren verplicht p. 11
Roman Ensemble | muziek
za 19.30 | 20.30 u | 30 min
De Bazel by night | rondleiding
za 20.00 | 21.00 | 22.00 u | 45 min
Sterke verhalen | lezing
za 20.00 u | 30 min
Amsterdam voor vijf duiten per dag | lezing
za 21.00 u | 30 min
82
Antwerp Central | film
za 21.00 u | 90 min
Angklung Workshop | muziek
za 21.30 u | 60 min
De Bazel
op volle toeren
De Bazel at
full speed
door
andere
ogen
through
different
eyes
Mees
de Tempe
vindt scheikunde het leukste vak op de middelbare school, maar ook rondleiden als jongerengids vindt hij leuk. Dit jaar voor de derde keer!
thinks chemistry is the best subject at secondary school, but he also likes being a youth guide.
This year for the third time!
za & zo 18.00-23.00 u
De Bazel 53 Vijzelstraat 32
meer info zie onze website
www.amsterdam.nl/openmonumentendag
—
more info see our website
www.iamsterdam.com/heritagedays
Yoga in De Bazel | sport
za 17.00 h | 60 min
Esotericism and De Bazel | tour
za 18.00 h | 60 min | in Dutch
Couperus culinair | lecture & diner
za 18.00 h | 30 min | in Dutch
registration in De Bazel
UNESCO canal cruise | boat tour
za 19.30 h | 60 min | reservation required p. 11
Roman Ensemble | music
za 19.30 | 20.30 h | 30 min
De Bazel by night | tour
za 20.00 | 21.00 | 22.00 h | 45 min | in Dutch
Tall tales | lecture
za 20.00 h | 30 min | in Dutch
Amsterdam for five bucks a day | lecture
za 21.00 h | 30 min | in Dutch
Antwerp Central | film
za 21.00 h | 90 min
Angklung Workshop | music
za 21.30 h | 60 min
Waarom is het zo leuk om een
jongerengids te zijn? Je leert
een gebouw heel goed kennen.
Ook vind ik het heel leuk als
mensen naar mij luisteren. Eigenlijk ben ik dan een soort leraar. Ik
vertel de bezoekers dingen die
ze eerst nog niet wisten. Word je
wel eens zenuwachtig tijdens
het rondleiden? Ja. De eerste
keer is altijd even wennen, maar
gelukkig sta je met z'n tweeën in
een monument. Wanneer je niet
uit je woorden komt, kan de andere jongerengids het overnemen.
Maar vaak gebeurt dat niet, hoor.
Ik bereid me altijd goed voor en
oefen met mijn vader en moeder.
Zij zijn mijn publiek en dan doe ik
net alsof de woonkamer het monument is. Wat is je favoriete
monument? Ik heb tot nu toe
alleen in De Bazel gestaan. Dat is
een heel leuk pand met bijzondere kamers en in de kelder is
een schatkamer. Ook het Koninklijk Paleis op de Dam vind ik leuk.
De zalen zijn heel groot en luxe.
Zou je later ook in een paleis
willen wonen? Liever niet. Het
Koninklijk Paleis is mij te groot.
Als je dan moet plassen, moet je
heel ver lopen. Doe mij maar een
kleiner huis, dat is veel gezelliger.
Why is it so much fun to be a youth guide?
You get to know a building very well. I also like
it a lot when people listen to me. Actually, I'm
kind of a teacher. I tell the visitors things they
didn't know before. Do you ever get nervous
during the tour? Yes. The first time is a bit
awkward, but fortunately there are two youth
guides per monument. If you're lost for words,
the other guide can take over. But that doesn't
happen very often. I always prepare very well
and practise with my father and mother. They
are my audience and I pretend the living room
is the monument. What is your favourite
monument? I have only been a guide in De
Bazel, a very nice building with special rooms.
In the basement there's an old vault. I also like
the Royal Palace on Dam Square. The rooms
are very large and luxurious. Would you like to
live in a palace? Rather not. The Royal Palace
is too big. If you have to go to the bathroom
you have to walk way too far. I prefer a smaller
house, it's much cosier.
83
Jongerengidsen
Junior guides
junior
programma
junior
program
Ga mee op avontuur
met een jongerengids
en ontdek samen een
monument. Wiene, Titus,
Sammie en nog vele
anderen staan klaar om
je rond te leiden in hun
favoriete monument. Ze
zijn tot in de puntjes voorbereid en maken je graag
wegwijs in De Bazel, de
Van Gendthallen en Tramremise De Hallen. Kom
langs en laat je verrassen!
Tramremise De Hallen 4
Van Gendthallen 30
De Bazel 53
Schipper mag ik
overvaren Skipper,
can I sail across
Altijd al je eigen zeilboot
willen maken? Dat kan!
Op het terrein van
Museum Werf 't Kromhout kun je knutselen aan
jouw droomboot en deze
ook testen op het water.
Maar pas op, laat hem
niet zinken! Ook wordt
er een speurtocht in het
museum georganiseerd
en liggen er potloden
en kleurplaten klaar.
za & zo 10.30 | 11.30 | 12.30 | 13.30
14.30 | 15.30 | 16.30 u
Embark on an adventure
with a child tour guide
and discover a monument
together. Wiene, Isabel,
Sammie and many others
are ready to show you
their favourite monuments. They are very well
prepared to show you
around in Tramremise De
Hallen, Van Gendt Halls
and De Bazel. Let them
surprise and impress you!
4 Tramremise De Hallen
30 Van Gendthallen
(also in English)
53 De Bazel
za 10.00-17.00 u | zo 10.00-13.00 u
Werf 't Kromhout 29
Always wanted to make
your own sailboat?
Well, now you can! At
the Shipyard 't Kromhout,
you can work on your
dream boat and test it
in the water – but don't
let it sink! There will
also be a treasure hunt
in the museum, as
well as crayons and
colouring books
available.
85
Fix je fiets
Fix your bike
Lekke band? Kapotte
spaak? Remblokjes vervangen? Steek je handen
uit de mouwen en durf
met smeerolie te knoeien.
Tijdens deze workshop
van fietswinkel Recycle
leer je de kneepjes van
het vak. Handig als je fiets
een keertje spaak loopt!
Droomreis
Dream journey
Maak een droomreis door
de wereld van de kunst
en laat je creativiteit op de
materialen los. Samen met
echte kunstenaars van
kunstuitleen galerie Beeldend Gesproken maak je
gave knutselwerken. Doe
mee aan een leuke knutselworkshop voor jong en
oud of bekijk de kunstwerken van de kunstuitleen.
Monumentselfie
86
Houd je camera in
de aanslag, want degene
die de leukste, gekste,
coolste monumentselfie
maakt, valt in de prijzen.
Maak een foto van jezelf
en je favoriete monument
en stuur deze op via onze
app of naar [email protected] Wie weet
val je in de prijzen!
za & zo 10.00-17.00 u
Tramremise De Hallen 4
Flat tire? Broken spoke?
Need to replace your
brake pads? Roll up
your sleeves and get
your hands dirty. During
this workshop, Recycle
bike repair shop will
teach you the tricks of
the trade. They could
come in handy.
(in Dutch)
Maak een reis door
de twaalf provincies van
Nederland met het boek
'Overal en ergens' van
Arend van Dam. De voorlezers van de VoorleesExpress zitten voor je klaar
met nog veel meer boeken. Plof gezellig neer,
luister en laat je verrassen.
Zandkastelen
Sand castles
za & zo 10.00-17.00 u
Tramremise De Hallen 4
Take your dream trip
through the world of
art and unleash your
creativity. Together with
real artists from the gallery
Beeldend Gesproken art
library, you will have the
chance to make your own
piece of art. Join a fun
craft workshop for all
ages or view the works
of art in the art library.
za & zo 10.00-17.00 u
Keep your camera ready,
because the one who
makes the funniest,
craziest, coolest monuments selfie will get a
price. Take a picture of
yourself and your favourite
monument and send it
through our app or email
it to [email protected]
Good luck!
Voorleeshoek
Reading corner
Bouw niet zomaar een
zandkasteel, maar een
groot middeleeuws
kasteel of een monumentale Italiaanse villa.
Op het stadsstrand van
Amsterdam liggen
schepjes en emmertjes
voor je klaar. Enthousiaste architecten in spe helpen je bij het maken van
jouw droomgebouw.
Varen door de grachten
Cruising the canals
(in Dutch)
De Heren-, de Keizers-,
de Prinsengracht. Hoeveel Amsterdamse grachten kun jij opnoemen?
Ga aan boord van onze
rondvaartboot en ontdek
ze allemaal. Samen met
twee museumdocenten
leer je bovendien van
alles over de geschiedenis van de Amsterdamse
grachtengordel.
za & zo 10.00-14.00 u
De Bazel 53
Take a journey through
the twelve provinces of
the Netherlands with the
book 'Overal en Ergens'
(Everywhere and Anywhere) by Arend van
Dam. The readers of the
VoorleesExpress will also
have many more books
on hand.
za & zo 10.00-17.00 u
Van Gendthallen 30
Why build an ordinary
sand castle when you
can construct a large
medieval castle or a
historic Italian villa?
At the Amsterdam city
beach, there are scoops
and buckets waiting for
you. Enthusiastic future
architects will help you
make your dream
building a reality.
za 16.00 u | zo 13.00 u
reserveren verplicht reservation required p. 11
Herengracht,
Keizersgracht,
Prinsengracht.
How many canals can
you name? Board our
canal boat and explore
them all. Accompanied
by two museum docents,
you will learn about
the history of the
Amsterdam canal
ring.
87
colofon
colophon
Een haan met
heimwee A rooster
with homesickness
(in Dutch)
Houten acteurs spelen
in deze oude smederij
opera's voor jong en
oud. Zoals het verhaal
over Casper. Samen
met zijn meester, Dokter
Faust, maakt hij een reis.
Onderweg krijgt hij heimwee, maar gelukkig kan
de aardige duivel Auerhaan hem troosten. Zelf
kun je ook aan de slag,
als poppenspeler of
theatertechnicus.
Stempelkaart
Stamp card
88
Sponsors & partners
za & zo 13.00 | 14.00 | 15.00 | 16.00 u
Nieuwe Jonkerstraat 8 | vol = vol
In this old smithy,
puppets will enact
operas for all ages,
like the story of Casperl.
Along with his master,
Doctor Faust, he goes
on a journey. Although
he gets homesick along
the way, the kind devil
Auerhaan is able to comfort him. If you want to,
you can try your hand
at puppeteering or
stagecraft.
za & zo 10.00-17.00 u
Houd je stempelkaart
in de aanslag! Voor elke
junioractiviteit kun je een
stempel verdienen. Bij
een volle kaart ligt er een
avonturierspresentje voor
je klaar. Haal de kaart en
het presentje op bij:
Keep your stamp card
ready! At any junior
activity you can earn a
stamp. Turn in your full
stamp card and get an
adventurer's present.
Pick up the card and
present at:
Tramremise De Hallen 4
Werf 't Kromhout 29
Van Gendthallen 30
De Bazel 53
Marionettentheater
4 Tramremise De Hallen
29 De Kromhout werf
30 De Van Gendthallen
53 De Bazel
Het Marionettentheater
Bouw- en aannemingsbedrijf Kneppers | Aedes Liefdewerk | Architectenbureau J. van Stigt
Bouwbedrijf M.J. de Nijs en Zonen B.V. | Havenbedrijf Amsterdam | Canal | Stichting 400 jaar
Amsterdam - VOC | Van der Leij Groep Mediapartner Het Parool
Open Monumentendag Amsterdam is gratis toegankelijk voor iedereen. Het evenement wordt
georganiseerd door Bureau Monumenten & Archeologie en is onderdeel van de landelijke
Open Monumentendag. Wij danken iedereen voor de samenwerking: sponsors en partners,
monumenteneigenaren en bewoners, vrijwilligers en rondleiders en Booking.com.
Amsterdam Heritage Days are accessible free of charge for everyone. The event is organized
by Office for Monuments & Archaeology. We thank everyone for their cooperation and their
commitment: sponsors and partners, building owners and residents, volunteers and tour
guides and Booking.com.
Projectteam Projectteam Lisette Breedveld | Lisa Aref | Gertjan Bennink | Reinier Mees | Paul
Nieuwenhuizen | Ariadne Onclin | Marleen Ram | Trudie de Vries | Mildred van der Zwan Foto's
Photos Han van Gool I Stadsarchief Amsterdam | Bureau Monumenten & Archeologie I André
Olthaar | Carien van Leeuwen | Arjan Bronkhorst | Paul Nieuwenhuizen Kaart Map Dienst
Basisinformatie | unit Geo-informatie Jongerengidsen Junior guides Wiene van de Loo | Felix
Ex | Borke-Jan Schaling | Bertold Aslan | Camiel Verdult | Thomas Rutgers | Ravar Thöne | Evi
Thöne | Pelle Monnens | Maisie van den Groenendaal | Bel van den Groenendaal | Stella
Steketee | Maud Hemel | Titus van Gent | Dana Auwerda | Isabel Mac Intosh | Anjana Gahar | Freek
Wallagh | Mees de Tempe | Miron Chapochnikov | Vera Posthumus | IJsbrand Wiggelaar | Teunis
Koot | Robyn Silvester | Vanicia Pollack | Katelijn Dekkers | Sammie Jansen Vertaling Translation
Simon Kuin | Tara Coghlan | Phil Gaster | Marjolein Keijser | Andrea Seamands | Thomas Trip | Paul
Witte Ontwerp Design Hanneke Kijkt Drukwerk Print De Groot Drukkerij Den Haag bv
Oplage Edition 130.000 Met dank aan Thanks to Esther Agricola | Amber Scheffers | Maartje
Boogaard | Freek de Adelhart Toorop | alle jongerengidsen en begeleiders | alle vrijwilligers
alle Amsterdamse Monumentenorganisaties | Uitgeverij Bas Lubberhuizen | Conferentiecentrum
De Bazel | Stadsarchief Amsterdam en alle medewerkers Bureau Monumenten & Archeologie
89
Bureau Monumenten & Archeologie De Bazel 53 Vijzelstraat 32 | 1017 CB Amsterdam | T 020
2514960 | [email protected] | www.amsterdam.nl/openmonumentendag
www.amsterdam.nl/erfgoed | www.iamsterdam.com/heritagedays
locaties & plattegrond
locations & map
90
Haarlemmermeerstation
Paardentramremise Schinkelhaven
Aalsmeerder Veerhuis
Tramremise De Hallen
Hal 17
Hotel De Hallen
Westerkerk
Huis Bartolloti
Huis Pauw
d’Vijff Vlieghen
Koninklijk Paleis Amsterdam
Korenmetershuis
Havengebouw
Grand Café 1ste Klas
Koninklijke wachtkamer
Tuchtcollege & Beurs van Berlage
Oude Kerk
Gulden Trip
The Grand
Waalse Kerk
Doelen Hotel
Portugese Synagoge
Huis De Pinto
Armeense Kerk
Montelbaanstoren
Zeemanshuis
Clipper Stad Amsterdam
Marineterrein
Werf 't Kromhout
Van Gendthallen
Koud Gas Gebouw
Lloyd Hotel
Quarantaine gebouw
Koffiehuis Hollandsche Lloyd
Loods 6
Kompaszaal
Perron Oost
Herberg Zeeburg
Gemeenlandshuis
Amstel Station
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena
Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten
Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen
Muiderpoort
Huis Caramelli
Artisplein
Ledenlokalen
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Ambtswoning
Huis Hammerstein
Koetshuis Van Loon
De Bazel
zat sat
zon sun
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
*
*
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
*
10.00-17.00
10.00-18.00
10.00-17.00
*
10.00-17.00
*
—
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
—
*
*
10.00-17.00
11.00-17.00
11.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
—
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
*
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
*
10.00-17.00
—
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
*
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
—
09.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
—
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
13.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
—
*
*
*
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
*
10.00-17.00
13.00-17.30
10.00-17.00
*
—
*
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
12.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
*
*
10.00-17.00
11.00-17.00
11.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
*
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
*
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
*
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
10.00-17.00
09.00-17.00
Amstelveenseweg 264
Eerste Schinkelstraat 16
Sloterkade 21
Hannie Dankbaarpassage
Tollensstraat 61
Bellamyplein 47
Prinsengracht 281
Herengracht 170
Herengracht 168
Spuistraat 294-302
Dam
Nieuwezijds Kolk 28
De Ruijterkade 7
Centraal station | Perron 2B
Centraal station | Perron 2B
Damrak 243
Oudekerksplein 23
Sint Annenstraat 12
Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197
Walenpleintje 159
Nieuwe Doelenstraat 26
Mr. Visserplein 3
Sint Antoniesbreestraat 69
Krom Boomssloot 22
Oudeschans 2
Kadijksplein 18
Kattenburgerplein 1
Kattenburgerstraat 7
Kruithuisstraat 25
Jacob Bontiusplaats 1
Jacob Bontiusplaats 1
Oostelijke Handelskade 34
Rietlandpark 371-401
Oostelijke Handelskade 44
KNSM-Laan 143
KNSM-Laan 311
Cruqiusweg 11
Zeeburgerdijk 633-641
Diemerzeedijk 27
Julianaplein 1
Professor Tulpplein 1
's Gravensandestraat 51
Sarphatistraat 470
Mauritskade 63
Sarphatistraat 500
Plantage Middenlaan 62
Plantage Kerklaan 38-40
Plantage Kerklaan 38-40
Herengracht 548
Herengracht 502
Herengracht 480
Kerkstraat 259
Vijzelstraat 32
* reserveren verplicht reservation required
91
monumenten
monuments
voor deze
monumenten
is reserveren
verplicht p. 11
for these
monuments
reservation
is required p. 11
activiteiten p. 68
activities p. 68
juniorprogramma p. 84
junior program p. 84
avondprogramma p. 78
evening program p. 78
deze locaties staan
niet op de plattegrond
these locations are
not on the map
92
93
meer info p.68 t/m 77
more info p.68 t/m 77
monumenten
monuments
voor deze
monumenten
is reserveren
verplicht p. 11
for these
monuments
reservation
is required p. 11
activiteiten p. 68
activities p. 68
juniorprogramma p. 84
junior program p. 84
avondprogramma p. 78
evening program p. 78
deze locaties staan
niet op de kaart
these locations are
not on the map
94
95
meer info p.68 t/m 77
more info p.68 t/m 77
ontdek
amsterdam
opnieuw
rediscover
amsterdam
Open Monumentendag Amsterdam
gaat dit jaar op reis. Althans, in eigen stad
natuurlijk. Rond het landelijke thema 'Op
reis' openen in het weekend van 13 en 14
september meer dan vijftig monumenten
gratis voor het publiek de deuren. Naast
verrassende activiteiten, zoals lezingen,
wandelingen, fietstochten en een avondprogramma, staan jongerengidsen klaar
om ook de jongste monumentenliefhebbers te vermaken. Enthousiast? Ook
volgend jaar zijn we weer terug met
een gloednieuw programma.
Blijf op de hoogte via onze nieuwsbrief, Facebook en Twitter.
www.amsterdam.nl/openmonumentendag
Amsterdam Heritage Days is going on
a trip this year, only within the city, that is.
The theme of the National Heritage Days
is 'Travelling', with more than 50 monuments
open to the general public on the 13th
and 14th of September. There are all sorts
of surprising activities such as lectures,
walks, cycling tours and an evening program. Youth guides are there to entertain
the younger Heritage Days fans. Enjoyed
yourselves? Next year we will be back with
a brand new program.
Stay up to date by subscribing to our
newsletter, or follow us on Facebook
and Twitter.
www.iamsterdam.com/heritagedays